Mac Virus Attack?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by insignificantMB, May 6, 2009.

  1. insignificantMB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #1
    My Norton Anti Virus says something called Portscan blocked my vulnerability protection?
    Is this some type or mac virus? Or maybe a hacker.
    And I have a lot of credit card information on this computer; I only use my mac to buy stuff.
    What can I do to prevent my credit card numbers from getting stolen?
     
  2. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    Your first problem is having Norton AntiVirus installed on a Mac.
     
  3. Ov3rlord Falc0r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #3
    Lol, that's along the lines of what I was going to say...
     
  4. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #4
    agreed it's pretty much useless.

    altho some colleges require that you have it. your computer wont connect to the internet unless you do. its absolute BS.
     
  5. insignificantMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #5
    Didn't want to risk the small chance of a virus. = ="
     
  6. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #6
    its your choice but it is only taking up space on your HDD.

    this is all you really have to worry about

    Newton Virus
     
  7. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    "Lock up" your credit card info in a password protected disk image or store it in Keychain Access. Just make sure you don't store it in your login keychain.
     
  8. apersianboyCOM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Sorry if this sounds sarcastic but I wouldn't store my credit card numbers at all.

    But thats just me being a little OCD, I also shred all my bank statements and anything with my name on it!
     
  9. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #9
    If you want to keep information on your computer like this, then I would suggest using a DMG image that is encrypted.

    Only open and mount it when you need access to this information.

    And of course, put a password on your screen protector. That way, if someone steals your laptop, and they cannot log into your laptop via the screen protector, most will just simply restart the computer. When it starts, if they get by your log in password, they will still need to try to mount your DMG images, which are encrypted and password protected.

    Even if they take out your HD and connect it to another computer, you DMGs are still encrypted and password protected.
     
  10. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #10
    NAV for Mac *is* a virus :p
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    THERE ARE NO VIRUSES on OSX.

    Since there are no viruses, anti-virus cannot determine what is a virus at this time.

    Giz Explains: Why OS X Shrugs Off Viruses Better Than Windows
    http://i.gizmodo.com/5101337/giz-explains-why-os-x-shrugs-off-viruses-better-than-windows

    The Mac Malware Myth
    http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2009/01/29/the-mac-malware-myth/

    The Unavoidable Malware Myth
    http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2008/...-apple-wont-inherit-microsofts-malware-crown/

    How to check for Trojans
    http://www.macworld.com/article/60823/2007/10/trojanhorse.html
     
  12. designgeek macrumors 65816

    designgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Location:
    "Town"
    #12
    Damn close.:p

    @Consultant, OP: read these. One of them says that adding anti-virus software to a mac just adds layers that can be exploited in effect putting your computer at more risk than before. I have NEVER had anti-virus software on a mac and have NEVER gotten a virus.
     
  13. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #13

    TWO WORDS! Celluar Broadband best purchase ever!
     
  14. insignificantMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #14
    The warning comes back every time I turn my computer on. Or whenever I turn my wi fi on then off.

    Is there any known virus called Portscan for mac?
    Kinda paranoid.. I don't really save my credit card numbers or anything on the computer, but I use it to buy stuff on ebay and manage my bank accounts.
    Can they still access my info?
     
  15. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #15
    Where?
     
  16. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #16
    Dude, you're being spooked by your own shadow. In other words, there's nothing going on. Norton is a piece of **** and is IMO a virus in-of-its-own. Uninstall that stuff and start practicing piece of mind.
     
  17. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #17
    Portscan = the process of port scanning. Port scanning happens all the time, especially on college campuses. It only means that someone is running port-scanning software against the IP addresses the user knows or suspects are active on the network. It's looking for an open port it can exploit in some way. I suspect it's Norton's firewall that's raising the alarm, not the anti-virus.

    Basically, it's like saying "a thief is casing my house."

    True, if Norton is using some other concept of a port scan, then I'm wrong.

    But when I was a college prof and was on the college network on my PC, the firewall I used (Zone Alarm) constantly told me I was being scanned, and I'm sure it was true. But since my ports were locked down, I didn't care.

    If you'd like to see how vulnerable you are, check out

    www.grc.com

    click through to ShieldsUP, and then get your machine tested. Ask to have "common ports" and "all service ports" checked. Don't bother with the other tests, because they're Windows-specific.

    My Mac, for example, has its ports hidden but does respond to a ping, which is not good. I'll have to fix that.
     
  18. ViciousShadow21 macrumors 68020

    ViciousShadow21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    To your left or right
    #18
    fiancee went to RISD and they made her have Norton on her mac.
     
  19. insignificantMB thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Lakers!
    #19
    Oh Thanks,
    I feel a lot better now. Seems real cause this problem just happened when I came to University of Chicago, using their wi fi.
     
  20. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #20
    +1 Norton is easily one of the worst antiviruses out there. Same with its big brother symantec. I wont even attempt to guess without scientific notation how many times either of those said a machine was clean only to scan with Nod or Kaspersky or AVG (free version) and find all kinds of "goodies"
     
  21. Kronie macrumors 6502a

    Kronie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #21
    WTF? I have never seen this before.

    So, all of a sudden I notice this page has opened in Firefox, all on its own.
    http://www.livejasmin.com/freechat.php?welcome&psid=ed_efuktpu

    Now, I don't EVER go to porn sites and no one has used this computer other than me. My wife has possibly used it once or twice but I can guarantee she didn't go to any porn sites or any sketchy sites.

    So I didn't think too much about it, just closed the window and then a few days later it popped up again! all on its own. Its done this a few times in the last couple of weeks and again last night. I'm not on sketchy websites, I'm on Macforums or Ebay, P.O.T.N. or CBC, (where I pull credit)

    I don't know what could be causing it? I haven't installed anything and given my admin password. I manually checked for the OSX.RSPlug.A Trojan Horse and don't have it, I even installed and ran virus barrier X5, that didn't find anything and I quickly uninstalled it.

    I just cleared all the data from Firefox and restarted. If it comes back I will try reinstalling the browser I guess.

    EDIT:
    Sorry, I meant to post this in its own thread. I didn't realize I was replying in this one........If any moderators want to move this, that would be great.
     
  22. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #22
    LoL my mac went ta ta's when i installed it. Ended up having to reinstall.
     
  23. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #23
    Oh, those University of Chicago folks. Make sure they're not up to something under the bleachers at the stadium again.
     

Share This Page