Mac vs PC for web development?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by sean00, Jul 21, 2009.

1. sean00 macrumors newbie

OK so im a noob.... I have learnt HTML and looking to set a bit further into this. I know it will prob be a bit one sided on here but mac vs pc for web development? is there any restrictions doing it on a mac? What is the Industry moving towards ie what should I be learning to be at the forefront?

2. André M macrumors member

I don't see any difference at all except what "special" programs you want to run for writing the code. since its just "text" you can just write it all in textedit if you wish.

I, find that the programs for deving in mac, works better for me than it used to in windows but that might just be me preferrng mac but apps like CssEdit and Coda, i've never seen on windoze yet (except for dreamweaver which i used before).

3. adamfishercox macrumors 6502

The industry is decidedly moving *away* from IE. All in all web development is really just text so whatever computer you want will work. Windows has the slight advnatage of you being able to test IE, but then you can just install Windows on the Mac. Web development is really platform independent.

4. TodVader macrumors 6502a

TodVader

My workflow is much faster when using a Mac and expose than when using Windows.

5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

there is really no difference when coding on different OS's.. the main difference will be for what browser you focus on, IE still has a very big footprint in the market and it requires different coding sometimes because it has been developed differently.

when testing make sure that all aspects work on all different browsers and you will be fine, the computer you code on doesnt really make any difference - you can decide that for yourself :)

6. sean00 thread starter macrumors newbie

great thanks for all the replies. so just to set my mind at ease if i was to code in .net i could do that on a mac os?