MAC Vs PC - Internet Security

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jadamcyk, Aug 4, 2008.

1. jadamcyk macrumors newbie

Hey all

I'm relatively new to macs and have been a PC user for many years but am thinking about making the switch once the new macbooks come out.

My questions is what major differences are there in security from viruses, spyware, malware ect..?

My HP DV 1000 just got infested with spyware after downloading a torrent :(

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Number 1: SEARCH.

There are no viruses, malware, spyware, and as of the most recent patch, trojans for OS X.

You do NOT need anti-virus software. Such software is a virus in itself for OS X. This does not mean that you are safe.

User error is the biggest virus for either OS. You can still easily fall prey to scams and phishing in OS X... because those are user problems. You will just not have any malicious software. Don't install anything shady that you download from either OS.

3. bertpalmer macrumors 6502

Yup, there are meant to be no viruses. trogans and spyware for macs.

When an exploit is discovered it is patched.

So, whilst there is free antivirus software which you can install, it is arguably not essential unless you are taking large risks downloading potentially harmful files.

4. jroller macrumors regular

I invite you to check out this site. It has information about spyware/viruses and an article from a computer security expert who was "Mad as Hell" about his experience with Windows and wrote a series of posts (17, I think) about his choice to switch to mac. I think you will like what you read, especially after your recent experience.

5. gettin sombrero macrumors newbie

This isn't exactly true as the DNS issue still isn't patched. Still thats only one issue.

6. joelovesapple macrumors 6502a

joelovesapple