Mac will not launch Leopard

Discussion in 'iMac' started by flipsy618, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. flipsy618, Feb 8, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011

    flipsy618 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #1
    I have problems with creating a new partition on my HD. I was suggested to do it from Disk Utility from the launch disk. I tried to launch my computer on the disk but It kept loading for hours. How do iFix this? :apple:
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Which disc did you use? What model iMac do you have? What kind of keyboard (wired or wireless) are you using? How did you try to boot your machine from the disc?
     
  3. flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #3
    I used the Mac OSX Leopard Install disc. I used a late or mid 07. I use a wired keyboard and I tried to boot the machine from the disc using ALT and clicking MAC OSX DISK
     
  4. flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Could be a variety of things going on, so the best way to tackle a problem like this is to go cause-by-cause.

    First of all: The disc itself; it will either be one of the purple retail discs or a set of gray discs (that came with your Mac) - if the disc you're using isn't one of those it will NOT work.
    Secondly, the optical drive; does your Mac's drive read other discs okay? Also, check the disc to make sure it's not dirty, scratched, or otherwise damaged.
    Finally, if all those fail to generate any leads, the problem may very well be hardware-related. Have you upgraded the RAM in that Mac recently?
     
  6. MacHamster68, Feb 12, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    to my knowledge all 07 early or late did come with OSX tiger , how is that important , as mentioned befor the grey install disc for leopard form 08 models wont work on it
    the Leopard retail disc's work , but only if you get one that isn't already scratched to death (even a small scratch can make a install disc unusable )
    also it happens quiet often that apples dvd drives fail to read sometimes lens cleaning might help , if not .. intel based Mac can boot from usb , if you have a external dvd drive or know one you could borrow try that if its known to work ,if the iMac can read the disc from that external you know your internal is gone

    but may i ask why you want to upgrade from tiger to leopard and not to snow leopard ?
     
  7. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #7
    Why not go and purchase the OS X Snow leopard? Just make sure when you install it that if you partition the HDD that it is set as a GUID partition. a GUID partition is required for Intel Macs to start.
     
  8. flipsy618, Feb 12, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2011

    flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for your quick responses. I am already using leopard that I installed a couple months ago. It's just that I want to use the disk utility on the disk. I don't really care about Snow Leopard because my mac is 4 years old and not a new one.

    The reason I want to do this is because somebody suggested to run Disk Utility on the Leopard Disc. I am not using the grey disk I am using the leopard disc. Here is a screen shot of my problem.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #9
    That screen shot shows me that you have data on the drive?
     
  10. flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #10
    Of Course I have data on the drive. It's my Mac hd
     
  11. MacHamster68, Feb 13, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #11
    yes but you did try to erase the partition and all your data and i suppose lucky for your data it failed to do that

    you cannot create a new partition with disc utility on your boot drive without losing the data on the drive if you use the install disc

    and you cant do it with disc utility inside the application folder using the drive you are booting from as OSX is not suicidal

    ok i can guess you did want to repartition ....but as i said its not possible with disc utility without losing the data


    please explain what you try to achieve , and why somebody did suggest to use disc utility

    and there is nothing to stop you using snow leopard on your intel Mac no matter how old and its cheap too $29 or £25 from apple store or other retailers
     
  12. flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #12
    A couple of weeks ago I posted a help thread with my partition problem. I don't know why they suggested to do it with disc utility. I want to create a new partition on my hard drive and the error keeps popping up.
     
  13. MacHamster68, Feb 13, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #13
    as you got leopard , and leopard has time machine , get a external drive , just as big as all files inclusive operating system that are at the moment on your Mac , but i would just get one as big as your internal or even bigger they are cheap now , then do a time machine backup on that (time machine once you activate it will ask you for permission to use that external drive ,but tell time machine to backup the entire drive , when that is done best unplug your external to avoid selecting it on the next step

    now just on the internal drive , you can create partitions with disc utility from your install disc one for osx as big as you think you need it for osx and all your apps and and one for whatever you like (own data) , now install osx in this first partition ,

    once install is done you could even repartition that still empty second partition in smaller partitions with disc utility from within the application folder , once you think everything is partitioned like you think it should be

    plug in your external with time machine backup and just restore from your time machine backup , time machine lets you even select single files to restore for example your pictures , even single pictures after it has restored them you can drag them into the partition of your choice , same for your music or whatever , and the good thing if you made a mistake or you think its not enough space on the boot partition or any other , you can always do it all over again until you think now the partitions have all the perfect size , as you still got your time machine backup , so no data lost
     
  14. flipsy618 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #14
    Thanks for your help. Still, I don't really want to buy a new hard drive. Is there any other way to fix it? Sorry.
     

Share This Page