Mac won't boot up after adding new user account?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Nitromaster, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. Nitromaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #1
    Hi,
    So basically i added a new blank non-admin account to my mac...so a family member could use it.
    Restarted.
    It gets stuck at the white loading screen now....never had any problems before.

    Anyone got any thoughts/ideas?

    Oh, and i would just check permissions/etc but i've lost my system discs...(i am planning on getting snow leopard + a new hard drive in about a month..)so if there's any advice there it'd be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #2
    still no luck....
    i'm gonna rule out a hard drive failure/problems..as my xp install on the drive is still going strong...

    anyone got any ideas?
     
  3. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #3
    I really don't know
    but I think maybe because you had a blank user account

    I made an account named "guest" and password is "guest"

    it works fine
     
  4. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #4
    Hmm..seems it stays on the loading screen for 3/4 mins...with the fans starting up and getting faster (i think)
    With it finally just shutting off suddenly.

    Absolutely no idea why this would be happening.

    maybe, still kinda weird though..mightn't have anything to do with the new account maybe.
    thanks for your input though :)
     
  5. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #5
    I think I know what is wrong with ur computer

    I had similar situation, it was caused to cutting the electricity off with out properly shutting down the computer

    I had the same symptoms

    Get a copy of Disc Warrior
    it fixed my HD multiple times, and it worked
     
  6. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #6
    Thanks yeah that seems like it'd be the problem! :)

    Does Disc Warrior include a bootable version? Couldn't find details on that....and would be kinda nessecary for me at the moment :)

    If so i'll pick up a copy in a week or two when i get the money.

    If anyone has any further suggestions in the meantime..then feel free to let me know :) (have data i would like to access sooner...however i can live without it i guess..)
     
  7. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    Have you tried starting in verbose or single user mode?
     
  8. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #8
    I think all Disc Warrior apps are bootable cds
    but you better check

    You have to put the cd in, then restart, and keep pressing C it will boot from the cd

    from there it can show you how damaged your HD is, and how it looks like after fixing it

    it happened for me at least 4 times, and it worked every time

    though I suggest buy a new HD and doing a full bootable backup, they are cheap enough
     
  9. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #9
    @ScoobyMcDoo
    Safe mode won't work. Resetted both SMC and PRAM. PRAM seemed to have an effect on the fan starting loudly upon attempted boot. (doesn't really now)
    Just tried single user mode...got me to a black screen with text... Last line is
    AppleYukon2: RxRingSize <= 1024, TxRingSize 256, RX_MAX_LE 1024,TX_MAX_LE 768, ST_MAX_LE 3328
    should it have gone any further then this line?

    I noticed a possible error above:
    BSD root: disk0s2, major 14, minor 2
    Singleuser boot -- fcsk not done
    Root device mounted read-only

    When I tried
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    It resulted in:
    HFS: Removed 3 orphaned unlinked files or directories

    Any thoughts on my situation? About to try verbose mode now..
    Edit: Ran
    /sbin/fsck -fy
    Got as far as "Checking Catalog file" before resulting in:
    disk0s2: I/O Error
    disk0s2: I/O Error
    Invalid node structure
    (4, 28994)
    Rebuilding Catalog B-tree
    The volume Macintosh HD could not be repaired

    ***** FILE SYSTEM WAS MODIFIED *****
    Thanks! Yeah I think I'm gonna end up getting a new drive anyway soon....running out of space gradually on my 160gb. Which I can then use as just a boot disk.

    Anyone know will the snow leopard check/verify/repair permissions on a leopard system?
     
  10. funwithamar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #10
    if u have a snow leopard disk why not try a clean install
    and for the data just use the xp partition
     
  11. Nitromaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland.
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Nokia N70-3 Ireland-Opera: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Good point!
    Getting snow leopard this week...ordering later online :D

    As for data...I never thought of that! Using outdated bootcamp it seems....so windows won't recognize my drive...never knew there was an update for it..thought I'd need special drivers or something...so thanks!!

    Found another topic where someone had a similar issue...they had no luck verifying/repairing permissions and ended up doing a re-install so that seems like my only option :)
     
  12. Edie Brickell macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #12
    Re:

    No No re-installation would lost your all data if you do not have any backup rather you should try a recovery application like Stellar Phoenix Mac which would atleast keep your data live till you get the problem solved..Mac Guys are great
     

Share This Page