Mac won't download from some links

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gslrider, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. gslrider macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #1
    I've been having this issue for a while now, and it seems to be getting worse. Whenever I try to download updates from links (I've tried from the Apple site, Epson site, Alien Skin site, AutoFX site, HandBrake site), it just hangs. My browser window just tells me "transferring from data from ....." and it just stays there. Nothing ever downloads. When I download from the same links at work, it downloads with no issues. BUT, I can still download from other sites, Apple software update works fine, and I can access the internet. Speeds are good. Does anyone know why this is happening? Any fix?

    Note, just over the summer I downloaded from the Epson site and Alien Skin site, was still having issues with downloading from links from the Apple site and AutoFX site though.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Some things to try:

    Some downloads require that you have popups enabled. Enable them.
    Disable Safari extensions.
    Try a different browser, like Firefox, Camino, Chrome.
     
  3. gslrider thread starter macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I did disable pop ups, and I was using Firefox. So I tried Safari (with extensions disabled), still no luck. I'm at work and downloaded from the same links, and downloaded the files with no issues.

    I talked to one of the IT guys at work, and he said that it could possible be a DNS issue, either with my modem or my IP. I spoke to Rogers Internet yesterday, and the guy said if I can access the internet and at good speeds (which I could), then it wasn't on their end. It must be the site. But it can't be since, I'm able to download from work.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    DNS? If their websites are resolving, I don't know why the downloads aren't. Well, on the other hand, maybe the non-working sites are all using the same source for large file hosting and you can't resolve that hosting website.

    Try changing your DNS server to 8.8.8.8 or 208.67.220.220. These are Google's and OpenDNS's servers.

    If there is a spot for secondary DNS, try 8.8.4.4 or 208.67.222.222.
     
  5. gslrider thread starter macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #5
    Thanks Action, I'll give this a shot this evening. Will let you know how it turns out.

    Cheers.
     
  6. gslrider thread starter macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #6
    Nope. Didn't work. Looks like anywhere that has files to be downloaded from an ftp server doesn't work. On top the sites I already mentioned, I've also tried downloading from MacUpdate and Sourceforge. What's strange is I tried downloading from CNET, when I clicked on Handbrake for Windows, it downloaded the .exe file with no issues. When I clicked on Handbrake for Mac, it just hung there, no download.

    I can download from Hotfile, Rapidshare, Fileserve, etc... those kinds of sites (not torrents). As well as some other sites similar to MacUpdate, CNET, ZDNET, etc... But just can't seem to download from sites like Adobe, Alien Skin, AutoFX, Apple Download. No anti-virus software in use, no third-party firewall up.

    I'm completely baffled why my system is doing this. Anymore help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    I'm confused by your post. FTP downloads aren't working, but HTTP downloads are?

    So Handbrake for Windows was an HTTP download, but Handbrake for Mac was an FTP download?

    If YES, then FTP is being blocked somehow. I'd check your router settings for port 21 and either turn off your OS X firewall or click Advanced and look through the list of disabled services for a likely candidate to turn back on.

    If NO, provide a couple of actual links that worked and a couple of actual links that didn't work.

    What's your home network like? Cable modem connected directly to Mac, or a router in between? I would try power cycling the cable/DSL/FIOS modem and all routers and switches.
     
  8. gslrider thread starter macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #8
    In regards to the ftp, I'm just going by with what I see at the bottom of my browser. ie. transferring data from...ftp//... I was able to download the PC version of Handbreak from CNET, but when I went to download the Mac version from the same site, it just hung. The PC version didn't indicate whether it was an FTP server or not, but the Handbreak link did.

    Another bit of info which makes things even more confusing, is I went to my brother's G5 and tried downloading from a few of the links I wasn't have any success on my Mac, and low and behold, I was able to download from his computer.

    So it's not my router, nor my internet connection, it's within my computer itself. I will try turning of the OS firewall, and see what happens with that.

    By the way, my system is plugged into a router, same router my brother's is hard wired to.

    Here is the link I'm able to download:
    http://dw.com.com/redir?edId=3&site...250.html?spi=41a0b5a17716a94ad3692799bdf7a82e

    Here are some of the links I haven't been able to download from but works on my Mac at work and on my brother's Mac:
    http://dw.com.com/redir?edId=3&site...?file=HandBrake-0.9.5-MacOSX.5_GUI_x86_64.dmg

    ftp://ftp.epson.com/drivers/epson13969.dmg

    http://www.alienskin.com/d/blow-up-2.1.1.1146.dmg
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    I just want to doublecheck that you changed the DNS settings in OS X and not your router.

    If it's not your computer's firewall, nor its DNS settings, then I am at a loss.
     
  10. gslrider thread starter macrumors 6502

    gslrider

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #10
    That's correct. I changed the DNS in the OS network preference, not the router. I'm sure there's something in my system conflicting with the downloads. I just don't know where. The only thing I can think of is reverting my system from a back up I made prior to this issue. Which is almost as much of a pain in the ass as reformatting my drive and reinstalling everything from scratch. lol

    I have a couple of more things to try before I get to that point. Will let you know how it works out. Thanks again for your help.
     

Share This Page