Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

qveda

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
I have a Mac Pro running Mac OS 10.8.2. Apparently I'm not good at properly ejecting USB or CF memory devices. I have some that when inserted produce the "Improperly Ejected" error and cannot be opened (or sometimes only open for a few seconds).

So now I have some CF cards and USB drives that can be read on Windows, will operate in a digital camera, but can't be read by my Mac.

Is there a way to fix the devices once they have apparently been damaged in this way ?

UPDATE: I noticed that if the CF card (plugged into my external USB card reader) is inserted while the Mac is powered off, then I power / boot up, the card is fine... no error message. Same with USB memory sticks. Otherwise, most of my CF cards or USB sticks get the Improperly Ejected error. What does this mean ?

Last edited:

qveda

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
For the CF cards, try reformatting them in your camera, with the USB drives, try using Disk Utility to reformat them.

Tried reformatting the CF card in the camera, but still get the error message when I plug them into my USB card reader. They show up as an icon, but within seconds I get the error message, and they are not accessible via the Disk Utility.

But if I plug them into the card reader while computer is shut down, then power up, they show up just fine.

ijohn.8.80

macrumors 65816
Jul 7, 2012
Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
Tried reformatting the CF card in the camera, but still get the error message when I plug them into my USB card reader. They show up as an icon, but within seconds I get the error message, and they are not accessible via the Disk Utility.

But if I plug them into the card reader while computer is shut down, then power up, they show up just fine.