MacBook 1.3Ghz @ 1.2Ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sakabaro, Jul 3, 2015.

  1. sakabaro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    #1
    Just got the new macbook CTO 1.3Ghz. Everything indicates a 1.3Ghz CPU apart when I run:

    sysctl -n machdep.cpu.brand_strin

    I am getting:

    Intel(R) Core(TM) M-5Y71 CPU @ 1.20GHz

    Any explanation?
     
  2. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #2
    Well, the 1.3 chips I believe are from the same line as the 1.2 chips, but the ones that 'binned' a bit higher, and as such are capable of being run a bit faster. So at the core, they may be identified as the same chip.
     
  3. surroundfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    Running sysctl -n machdep.cpu.brand_string the 1.1GHz is actually a 900MHz processor by that!

    It's tempting to say that 2003 wants its processor speeds back but I suspect that it's just that this is the minimum clock speed it can run or something like that...

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Core_M_microprocessors
     
  4. cbautis2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #4
    Intel allowed configurable TDP and base clock rate (based on TDP) on the Core M. On some Windoze laptops, Core M 5Y71 is configured to 1.4 GHz base with 6 W TDP.
     
  5. sakabaro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    #5
    That's weird.

    Can people post here the result of the `sysctl -n machdep.cpu.brand_strin` here for their MB? (Just go to the terminal and copy/paste it.) Thanks!
     
  6. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

    MyopicPaideia

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Trollhättan, Sweden
    #6
    It is just telling you the base clock of the part number. 5Y71 has a base clock of 1.2, the 5Y51 a base clock of 1.1, and the 5Y31 0.9.

    Apple is overclocking all three of these processors to a different degree but the command you are running just returns the part number, it doesn't reflect any overclocking...

    So it really isn't that weird at all.
     
  7. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

    MyopicPaideia

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Trollhättan, Sweden
    #7
    Nope different part numbers, see above.
     
  8. sakabaro thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    #8
    Cool, thanks, don't really get why Apple doesn't stick to the part name in their product description, but whatever I guess.
     
  9. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

    MyopicPaideia

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Trollhättan, Sweden
    #9
    Yeah, it isn't Apple that decides what string the Intel processor returns for that command. And it is accurate in any case...
     
  10. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    There is no 'over clocking' taking place. The base clock has a range and apples between the min/max figure for the chips specifications
     
  11. MyopicPaideia macrumors 68000

    MyopicPaideia

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Trollhättan, Sweden
    #11
    Ok, "up" clocking then.
     
  12. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #12
    should't that be

    sysctl -n machdep.cpu.brand_string

    ?
     

Share This Page