MacBook 13.3" (Aluminium) or MacBook 13.3" WHITE

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Haeqal, Mar 17, 2009.

1. Haeqal macrumors newbie

I'm just a student in Singapore and I thought of buying a MacBook.
    There's this laptop deal in my school for MacBooks. I need advice on which MacBook should I buy cause my budget is >SGD$2.5k, so don't advice me on buying MacBook pro. I'm not an avid gamer but I just need the notebook to have a reliable speed and performance.
    Here's the specs of the deals:

MacBook 13.3" WHITE
    2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    160GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M with 256MB of shared DDR2 SDRAM
    AirPort Extreme built-in
    Bluetooth 2.1 built-in
    Built-in iSight camera
    Built-in 10/100/1000 Base-T (Gigabit)
    Two USB 2.0 port
    One Firewire 400 port
    Full-size keyboard
    Scrolling trackpad

* BUNDLE with 4GB RAM upgrade, AppleCare Protection Plan (3 yrs on-site warranty incl. parts & labour, 1 yr for battery), Mini DVI to VGA adapter, Retractable USB Mouse, Carry bag & Notebook numeric lock
    S$1,977.36

MacBook 13.3" (Aluminium)
    2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    160GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M with 256MB of shared DDR3 SDRAM
    AirPort Extreme built-in
    Bluetooth 2.1 built-in
    Built-in iSight camera
    Built-in 10/100/1000 Base-T (Gigabit)
    Two USB 2.0 port
    Multi-Touch trackpad

* BUNDLE with 4GB RAM upgrade, AppleCare Protection Plan (3 yrs on-site warranty incl. parts & labour, 1 yr for battery), Mini DVI to VGA adapter, Retractable USB Mouse, Carry bag & Notebook numeric lock
    S$2,341.16

Any advice on which to buy or pros and cons of the MacBook?

2. brop52 macrumors 68000

brop52

I'm sorry that you have to pay so much in Singapore.