Macbook 13" RAM 2GB vs. 4GB

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Euphoria36, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. Euphoria36 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #1
    I am a new mac user and I'm looking to to buy the Macbook. I was wondering if I should shell out the extra $100 to upgrade the 2GB RAM to 4GB? I plan on running parallels and SAS (windows based statistical analysis software) somewhat regularly. Will the 4GB make much of a difference in terms of use -or is the 2GB sufficient?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    RAM is the cheapest and easiest way to boost performance

    If you are going to run Parallels, by all means upgrade the RAM

    However, don't pay the Apple premium
    Buy 3rd party RAM and upgrade yourself

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I'd definitely go for the RAM upgrade. DDR3 prices have climbed quite a bit too.
     
  4. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Agreed with all above me.

    4GB will definitely make a noticeable difference over 2GB.
     
  5. DJ FLEX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I bought my Macbook 13" some months ago, i had a crappy Dell with 4GB RAM in it, so i pooped on the DELL and swapped the DDR2 RAM into the Macbook. The Macbook was MUCH faster, hopefully soon i can afford a couple 4GB to throw into it as well. I recommend using 3rd party RAM as well, same performance less money spent.
     
  6. iObama macrumors 6502

    iObama

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    SF
    #6
    Get 4. Even while running iTunes, iChat, Safari and Word, I wish I had 4 gigs. The more the better. ;)
     
  7. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    Why ? From top :

    PhysMem: 762M wired, 630M active, 270M inactive, 1661M used, 2436M free

    That is with iTunes, Transmission, MSN, Skype, Firefox, OpenOffice Writer open. 1.6 Gigs used, of which 270M is inactive (freed and ready to be reallocated).

    Seriously, more isn't always better, sometimes it's just a waste. :rolleyes:

    However, for the OP, running a Windows VM will be memory intensive, especially if you dedicate over 1 gig of RAM to it and more and 64 MB of video memory.
     

Share This Page