Macbook: 15inch vs. 13inch i5/i7

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by fireheart347, Jun 29, 2011.

1. fireheart347 macrumors newbie

I am an engineering student at the undergraduate level and I want to make sure that the computer will last at least four years. Which mac would be best if I also intend to use bootcamp and/or run Parrallels.

The models I'm choosing between:

Macbook Pro 13inch i5
    Macbook Pro 13 inch i7
    Macbook Pro 15 inch i7 2.0 ghz

Thanks!

2. soco macrumors 68030

soco

I don't think this can be decided on which will last ~4 years or which runs Parallels better. It's up to screen size.

I think that with Lion's new full-screen feature, the 13" is more than enough for most. I bought the 13" thinking I'd switch to the 15" after making sure it's screen wasn't big enough for me, but I've been testing Lion and full-screen won me over.

3. Young Spade macrumors 68020

Being a college student myself, I wouldn't shoot for anything over 13 inches. I have a MB right now and love the portability vs screen estate ration I'm getting right now. It's lighter and smaller which will help out tremendously when you're walking around with multiple books in your backpack.

It depends on how big of a screen you want though. Either/or isn't going to break your back; is it possible to go to Best Buy or an Apple store to test them out? They have all of their machines on display along with fast, free wifi to connect and surf around for an hour or so, at least to just get a feel for it. i'm sure that if you wanted, you could ask a rep to stand by you and close the machine, pick it up, get a "feel" for the machine in its entirety.

4. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

MagicBoy

Pro and Cons to each really.

The 15" will perform better as it's a quad core and has the high-res screen option, therefore will have better comparative performance in 4 years time. The 13" is a dual core but with a higher clock speed.