Macbook 2.16ghz or Pro 1.83ghz?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by flac124, May 27, 2008.

1. flac124 macrumors newbie

I currently have a White Macbook 2.16ghz / 2gb / 160gb which I bought used about 3 months ago recently a friend of mine has offered to sell his old 1.83ghz / 1gb / 80gb Macbook Pro. I paid $750 for the Macbook, which I'm sure I can recoup in resell. My friend is offering the pro for $800. Both machines are in good condition with the pro perhaps being slightly 'cleaner' .

I'm an art student so photoshop is running quite bit. I do some light video editing as well.

decisions, decisions... I would like to know what you all would do if you were in my position?

2. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni

I would keep the macbook and forego the pro. The Core Duo machines were problem prone and got really hot if i remember correctly.

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

That MacBook has a Core 2 Duo processor, right?

I would definitely keep what you have now. The MBP your friend has is probably the Core Duo model, which only accepted a maximum of 2 GB of RAM, if I recall correctly. If I'm wrong, then let someone correct me, but I think my friend has a very similar MBP, and I don't think he can put in more than 2 GB of RAM.

4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

i'm going to confirm this. core duo intel macs can only accept up to 2 gb of ram (2 x 1gb sticks). that said, i'd also recommend keeping the macbook over the mbp.

5. astudentis macrumors regular

6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9

as much as i hate to admit it, yes.. keep the MB.

a 1.83ghz mbp isnt that great, i have my CD MBP (see specs) and while its a great machine, its starting to get a bit slow. another 300mhz less woluldnt help it much.

yes thats true. 2gb max, which is EASILY maxed out these days. i have 1gb of swap already after 2days uptime.

so yes, i would recommend staying with the MB, maybe upgrade the HD with the money you would save.

7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

DoFoT9