Macbook 2.4 vs macbook Pro 2.4 and 2.5

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mladenz, Oct 14, 2008.

1. mladenz macrumors regular

Oke guys, im in for buying a new macbook (pro) but i need some advice;

I have 3 options:

Macbook 2.4
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB DDR3 Memory
    250GB hard drive1
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics
    $1,599.00

Macbook Pro 2.4
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    15-inch widescreen
    2GB Memory
    250GB hard drive1
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 256MB
    $1,999.00

Macbook Pro 2.5:
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    15-inch widescreen
    4GB Memory
    320GB hard drive1
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT with 512MB
    $2,499.00

I'm a graphic designer and that's what's my school is about too. I have my imac as my main computer, and will stay my main.

So what do you guys think is the best for me? Im not rich but im not poor either, just normal.

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

With the educational discount:

MacBook $949
    MacBook Pro 2.4 $1,899
    MacBook Pro 2.53 $2,299

I still prefer the MBP with the Firewire port for external hard drives, bigger screen, etc. Your priorities may be different.

3. mladenz thread starter macrumors regular

I do like the bigger screen and the firewire ofcourse but now im thinking about the macbookpro 2.4 and 2.5, is is worth it? Will there be a significant difference thats worth 400?

4. mladenz thread starter macrumors regular

oh and i can also just buy 4gb and add them in the macbook pro right? Just like i did with my imac?

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Half of the $500 difference in price between the 2.4 and 2.5 isn't the processor, but 2 vs 4GB RAM and a 250GB vs 320GB hard drive. The 2.4 has half as much graphics memory and L2 cache, but it's likely you wouldn't notice any measurable performance difference. RAM is more important.

6. Coldwater macrumors member