Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FreedomFighter

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 5, 2007
Hey Guys,

I apologize if this has been spoken about before however i have a few different view points.

First of all I am a student and don't exactly have inexhaustible amounts of money so I want my investment to A: Have a bit of resell value and B:stay relatively good performance in Audio/Visual Editing software eg. Logic & Aperture.

I can Get the 2.4 MacBook with Apple Care for AU$1367.25
And the the 2.4 MacBook Pro with Apple Care for AU$1792.05
That is US$946.7 and US$1239 Respectively (Brand New)

I thought these were very reasonable prices and for the price I was initially going to go with the MacBook Pro. I guess what I am asking is the MacBook capable of handling my Audio/Visual work and some light gaming (C&C 3, COD4) and will the MacBook be a Long term investment or will it need replacing in 1 - 2 years

Thanks for your help.

FreedomFighter

kindablue09

macrumors regular
Mar 26, 2009
The macbook will last for 3 years, buying apple care will make sure of it. However, the mbp has a better gpu. You can check out the specs below and see if its worth it to you.

http://www.macworld.com/article/136...oomia_ow=t0:s0:a38:g26:r5:c0.013013:b22632546

Personally, I would go with the faster machine to play COD4, but I don't know how important gaming is to you with respect to your funds.

And are those prices available to the public?

Scottsdale

Suspended
Sep 19, 2008
U.S.A.
I own a unibody MB, and the display is very disappointing. The viewing angle and blacks are just horrible. Compare a unibody MB to a MBP side by side with video in an Apple store - the difference is amazing.