macbook 2.4ghz 3GB or 4GB ram?????

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by 2LOW, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. 2LOW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #1
    hello all.
    i have a blackbook 2.4ghz and i am wondering if i upgrade to 4gb ram
    would i use 3gb of ram or use the whole 4gb?
    would i loose dual channel because of the 4gb ram upgrade?
    can i upgrade to 6gb? whats the story with this.
    i use vmware fusion and want to use it without worries
    i also use logic 8 pro.
    so should i upgrade how should i upgrade and not loose the dual channel?

    thank you all for your reply.
    Marco Tulio
     
  2. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
  3. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #3
    I'm pretty sure it can only handle up to 4GB. Just do 2 x 2GB.
     
  4. Prekesh macrumors regular

    Prekesh

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
  5. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    I don't think so...

    A little OT: Has anyone successfully installed 6GB of RAM in the unibody MB (not pro)?
     
  6. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #6
    It will address up to 6 gb of RAM.

    Yes, it will.
     
  7. Prekesh macrumors regular

    Prekesh

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #7
    has anyone actually put 6Gb into a whitebook/blackbook?

    would be interesting to see results, if its stable i would seriously be interested in getting 6gb.
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    yes, 8 gigs doesnt work though. 6 works fine
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #9
    Yes, it's been done. It works on all Santa Rosa Macs (iMac, MB, MBP).
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Barefeats did it in the Aluminium Macbooks.

    6 GB works on anything post Santa Rosa.
     
  11. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Sorry then. I thought I read somewhere that the chipset only supported 4GB.

    So is 6 the max on the unibody MacBook?
     
  12. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #12
    So does OS X utilize it all?
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Yes
     
  14. 2LOW thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #14
    so should i buy the 6gb ram for my early 2008 blackbook 2.4ghz and the computer will use all of the 6gb of ram?????

    i will not waste extra money???
     
  15. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #15
    Didnt find anything about 6/8gb macbooks on barefeats,only on zimbio..
    Do you happen to have a link to that?

    Anyone know where to find any speedcharts how 2/4/6gbs perform?
    And did you have to have 4+2Gbs of memory, was it possible to have 4+1Gb?
     
  16. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #16
    Read the post above...
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I seem to remember the new models on Barefeat's site. Otherwise they do show up here on MacRumors.

    http://www.macrumors.com/2008/10/30/new-macbooks-and-macbook-pros-support-up-to-6gb/

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=590551
     
  18. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #18
    What do people mean when they say Santa Rosa, or name a city? I remember seeing different processor companies give city names to their units but why? And why do they name them after that city?

    I have a late 2008 Aluminum unibody 2.4 MB, what city name does my computer have?

    Can I put 6GB of ram in my computer? I thought, and was told by apple, that it only goes up to 4GB. Whose right and whose wrong?

    Thanks for the help
     
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #19
    "Santa Rosa" refers to a chipset that controls most of the computer's functions (e.g., memory, cpu, hard drive, etc.). Here are the iterations of the MacBooks (and MacBook Pros):

    Calistoga chipset with Core Duo (2 gb RAM max)
    Calistoga chipset with Core 2 Duo (3.3 gb RAM max)
    Santa Rosa chipset with Core 2 Duo (6 gb RAM max)
    9400m (NVidia) chipset with Core 2 Duo (6 gb RAM max)

    You can tell which chipset yours has by telling us which processor and which gpu your MacBook has.
     
  20. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #20
    I have the new 2.4 GHz unibody MB. GPU is the Nvidia GeForce 9400. As far as specifics, I can't seem to find any in the system profiler, if you need like serial numbers and stuff.

    Thanks
     
  21. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #21
  22. SteveMobs macrumors 6502

    SteveMobs

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #22
    I hate to keep asking, but I'm actually kind of interested in which "city name" my processor is. I think it'd help, or be good to know. Any ideas?

     
  23. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #23
    Yours doesn't have one. Those with "city" names are Intel chipsets. Yours is the NVidia 9400m chipset. The processor is a Core 2 Duo "Penryn".
     
  24. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #24
    Crestline is the northbridge for the 965GM platform. MCP79A would be for any mobile 9300/9400 chipset.
     
  25. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #25
    I just ordered 4GB for my Macbook Alu 2.4 for $79.99 from Crucial. The prices have dropped considerably on their website.
     

Share This Page