Macbook 2009 Ram/Hard Drive Upgrade: Store or DIY?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by waynechriss, Aug 20, 2010.

1. waynechriss macrumors regular

I bought the macbook in summer 2009 right before the refresh, so i have the one without the glass trackpad, improved ram and hard drive. My macbook only has 2GB ram and 160GB of hard drive and it needs a serious upgrade if i want to continue editing HD video and working with adobe illustrator and whatnot.

I hear stories of people upgrading their macbook and they won't boot up and stuff like that, i have no experience in upgrading computers. What's the best way to approach ram/hard drive upgrade on a macbook? Please and thank u.

2. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

iphone1105

Honestly, I was never good much with upgrading anything I own, let alone a computer!

Truth be told though, I decided I would upgrade the RAM and HD in my Macbook(late 09). It was very easy, infact, very very easy. I took the screws out, the RAM just pops out....just seat your new RAM firmly. As for the HD, I watched a video on youtube from Crucial I believe, I followed that and in about 10 min I had my new HD in! So give it a whirl, if anything put it all back together and get it done at a parts store or apple store!

3. waynechriss thread starter macrumors regular

Oh that's reassuring. Where did you get your RAM from?

4. Covart Guest

Ram is a simple job, requiring very little experience.

Change out a HDD use to be a bit more complex, but still very easy to do. I have done all of this on 4 separate laptops ranging from 2008 MacBooks to 2010 MBP's. There are all simple.

5. Fast/Furious macrumors regular

Fast/Furious

DIY. Much cheaper and it's satisfying doing it yourself.. plus picking your own parts is good too :) http://www.ifixit.com/Browse/MacBook should have everything you need to know, the tutorials are amazing and there are pictures for every step.