Macbook 2010 ( polycarbonate ) SSD upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by TheCaptain95, Oct 14, 2012.

1. TheCaptain95 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

Just saw a video on youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qKtCR5Z5CpU , installing a new ssd onto a macbook. Im new to this but appears to be a good investment as i am a student and always seem to be tight for cash! So, the overall Geekbench score rose very slightly, and it looks like not much was improved. So is upgrading to an ssd worth it? or should I just buy a new laptop as i want a laptop to last as long as it can. thanks :)

2. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

SSDs make things much "snappier" but are by no means necessary. Unless you're doing a lot of gaming/video editing there really isn't any reason you'll need a new computer anytime soon.

3. TheCaptain95 thread starter macrumors newbie

Its just irritating to constantly have a slow laptop, even after clearing the memory to an external hard drive, and regular shut downs. I was thinking a 256gb ssd for performance, yay or nay?

4. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

There are a lot of things can improve performance, and an SSD is definitely one of them. You also have to consider things like how much space you're using on your current drive, and whether or not you have enough ram... What do you use the computer for?

5. TheCaptain95 thread starter macrumors newbie

a little bit of everything, emails, itunes etc. But I also do alot of video and photography (cs5) on it

6. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

Wouldn't space be a major issue, or do you work off an external drive? Anyway, yes an SSD is always a nice upgrade, but you need to consider the possibility that performance issues could also be due to excessive paging... How much ram do you have? and could you post a screenshot of your "system memory" section of activity monitor?

7. TheCaptain95 thread starter macrumors newbie