MacBook 2016 can't handle Logic Pro X

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by danrell, Feb 11, 2017.

  1. danrell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    #1
    Just got the new 15'' MacBook with a 2,7 processor and 455 graphic card. It's running Logic Pro X extremely slow. The lag is unbearable and it starts to crap out when I'm only 10 channels deep in to a project, final product usually ends up at 60+ channels. Logic uses 120% of the processor power to run only two plug-ins at the same time (NI Battery and stock Multimeter). Meanwhile, my 5 year old iMac is running logic smooth as butter. Am I missing something here?
     
  2. Jaekae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #2
    same for me, only running one instrument plugin maxes out the CPU and give crackles.. and when i have my professional apogee thunderbolt soundcard connected to the computer and try to restart or shutdown i get kernel panics. And also frequent coreaudio crashes. Good job apple at making the crappiest computer of the year
     
  3. jmoore5196 macrumors 6502a

    jmoore5196

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest US
    #3
    I think the problem may lie in Logic Pro X. I've been running deep projects in Audition CC without any lag at all. I have the identical machine - 2.7GHz 15" with the 455.
     
  4. Boneheadxan macrumors regular

    Boneheadxan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #4
    This is strange. Logic X & Ableton are working flawlessly on mine. 2.9 15"MBP with 460. I've been running Diva, Serum etc. effortlessly. I've run it on stock audio and via an RME interface. No audio related crashes yet. Hope you guys get it sorted.
     
  5. caramelpolice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    #5
    Runs great on my 2.7GHz Radeon Pro 460 model. Not sure what's up.
     
  6. Jaekae macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    #6
    How high does the cpu meter go in diva on the more demanding pad like patches?
     
  7. sven691103 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
  8. danrell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    #8
    What specs do you have on your MBP?
     
  9. Charlesje macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    #9
    No preblems here neither. Did you update your audio interface drivers (sierra)?
     
  10. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #10
    It's probably still indexing. Wait a few more days and you should be fine.
     

Share This Page