Macbook 2GB (2x1GB) not matched pair

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trinnatee, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. trinnatee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi all,

    I recently bought two of Kingston memory (2 x KTA-MB667/1G) (not as a kit) to upgrade my 2.16 Macbook for about a month ago. However, I couldn't see the different between 1GB and 2GB at all.

    So I was wondering that whether buying two separate memory (2 x KTA-MB667/1G) will get the same result of buying a pair of memory as a package (KTA-MB667/2G) or not.:confused:

    Thanks,
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    As long as they are the same capacity and speed, they will run in dual channel mode. Perhaps you didn't need more memory to begin with? How much blue and green do you have in Activity Monitor?
     
  3. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #3
    You don't need to buy them as a pair.

    The memory sticks don't even need to be the same speed (although, motherboards can be picky). As long as the sticks are the same capacity, then they should technically be good to go. Some motherboards are picky.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    The 2 Kingstons should be running in Dual Channel mode. You do not have to buy them as a kit, as long as the build is the same (same number of black chips on the module in the same arrangement)

    The difference with Dual channel is pretty subtle - 6% - 8%. (Remember, if you had 2 x 512 before, then you were also running Dual Channel.

    You see the difference with more RAM when you load up enough programs, or use large enough programs and data, to exceed your former amount of RAM. Where your machine used to have to go to paging files on and off the hard drive, you now can operate more withing RAM, so you don't get the slowdown of the hard drive.

    But if you are only using small programs, and not multitasking heavily, you might not have gone into that territory yet.

    (Flashing: Apple's spec for Dual Channel is they have to match for size, speed and composition)
     
  5. trinnatee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the answer. I thought that they might have some processes to match RAMs with exact the same value or something.

    633.64 for green and 936.91 for blue.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    As I thought. More memory didn't really help you. If you run something like iMovie or startup a lot of Dashboard Widgets, you would have noticed the difference.
     
  7. twomiracles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #7
    I do have to pipe in here and say...

    I had 2 identical sticks of PNY RAM at Best Buy in my iMac. Bought them at the same time, literally right next to each other on the hook. Had kernel panics, wouldn't shut down or wouldn't wake up after going into sleep mode, etc... Called and was advised that I should have a matched pair. I thought it was a long shot, but I got PNY to send me a matched pair and since I've installed them, I have not had a single kernel panic, no hangups on shut down, basically the only issue I ever have now is drag and drop quitting on me.

    So, believe what you want, but I believe them when they say a matched pair is best.
     
  8. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #8
    Heh, you got sucked in by coincidence. You didn't need a matched pair, you needed a good pair. You just got bad ram.

    jW
     
  9. trinnatee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #9
    Thanks for all answers!

    I did run something like VMWARE or Photoshop but the speed is the same as 1GB (from my feeling). When I was running VMWARE, there were no green area at all.

    I start getting confused that should I have upgraded hard drive to 7200RPM instead of RAM to make my Mac faster? :confused:
     
  10. trinnatee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #10
    They do have the same number of black chips on the module be not in the same arrangement :eek: Hope I didn't waste my money on them :(
     

Share This Page