MacBook 3,1 (late 2007) not working with 6GB RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Dankex, May 17, 2013.

  1. Dankex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #1
    Hello all.

    After reading the OWC page where it is said that a late 2007 MacBook can handle 6GB of RAM, i've decided to purchase this 4GB DIMM (http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=ct51264ac667) and pair it with my old 2GB one (http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000Z70DVO).
    The problem is: it doesn't work. When I power up the MB, it starts beeping and the led starts flashing.

    So, what can I do? I'm now working with the new 4GB DIMM only and everything is fine. OWC claims I can use 6GB and I can see that some people have their 6GB kit working on a late 2007 MB like mine, BUT it doesn't seem to be the case with different DIMMS. Does that make sense? They may not be the same, but they have the same specs and the MacBook is the same.

    Please let me know what you think.

    Cheers.

    EDIT: Crucial, says I can not use 6GB: http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa... Core 2 Duo (13-inch White) MB062LL/B&Cat=RAM
     
  2. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #2
    You can use 6, but the macbook is finnicky about RAM. Buy name brand, or try to get a replacement stick.
     
  3. 7itanium macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    #3
    I have a late 2007 running on 6gb and in my experience it works

    but like the above poster said they can be extremely finnicky about ram

    even if DIMM number 1 works fine in the Mb alone, and DIMM 2 works fine in the macbook alone they will likely not work when placed together

    in order to make it work I had to put 2 of the exact same model RAM in (but different sizes)

    so my 4gb stick and my 2gb stick are IDENTICLE except for size
    bus speed, brand, and even model often have to be the same

    but sometimes not as well.... it just depends on luck of the draw
     
  4. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Personally I would say save your money. A $100 upgrade for minimal benefit is better saved for putting in a SSD. Old RAM is way too expensive in large capacity. The benefit you are going to get is minimal unless you are always paging out.

    Crucial is not always completely up to date (which is understandable given they have to check every computer out there and are not focused on Macs only. Everymac is a good website to check.

    By the way, you linked to an incorrect set of RAM on Amazon. What you listed is desktop memory.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    I have a MacBook 4,1 which is essentially the same as 3,1 but with slightly faster CPU and 6GB works great. As others have said, these MacBooks are extremely finicky about RAM. 6GB worked with one 2GB stick of RAM I had but not another. I can only suggest you purchase from a source that specifically specifies 6GB compatibility in MacBooks.

    That being said, going from 4GB to 6GB was the best thing I ever did for my MacBook. It eliminated all my "beachballing" and my page outs remain at zero now. It has made a world of difference in terms of responsiveness. I would never want to use my MacBook with less than 6GB again.
     
  6. Dankex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #6
    Thank you all for the replies. I've purchased a SSD as well, and it will be here in a matter of days. Just returned the 4GB dimm. Will now buy one locally *after* testing it on my MacBook with my current 2GB dimm.
    I do page out a lot, I really need it... (it is pricey, but it is still cheaper than purchase a new laptop). If just hope it really is worth it - will first test the SSD alone with my current 4GB RAM and see how it performs...
     
  7. matthewcornell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #7
    Old thread, but I just upgraded mine from 2gb to 6gb, but I had to place the 4gb module on the bottom/underneath the 2gb one, which is on top. The other way caused the power button to flash/blink three times then repeat, with no boot up. The ram is from owc. Hope that helps!
     
  8. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Which SSD did you buy?
     
  9. Big Ron macrumors 6502

    Big Ron

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    I upgraded my 2009 unibody to a Samsung EVO 840 250Gbyte SSD. Best upgrade I ever did. It feels faster post the SSD upgrade than when I went from 4 to 8 GBytes of RAM:cool:
     

Share This Page