Macbook Air: 1.6 or 1.8

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by memberako, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. memberako macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    I'm considering buying a Macbook Air and I'm not sure if it's worth it to get the 1.8 processor for 300 bucks. Would the speed difference be noticeable?
     
  2. coolant113 macrumors 6502

    coolant113

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    you will definitely see a speed difference in the 1.6 and 1.8 in my opinion:apple::apple:
     
  3. memberako thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
  4. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #4
    you will not have a noticeable difference at all I bought the 1.6
     
  5. memberako thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
  6. Bigsam411 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #6
    I certainly do not think that the 1.8 is worth the $300 extra. If you really need the extra power than you should not even be looking at the air and just get the pro.
    The 1.6 is fast enough for most tasks though and assuming your not trying to do anything high end it should suit you well.
     
  7. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #7
    .2GHz speed increase will do nothing...maybe 5% difference. You will never notice it.
     
  8. Caris macrumors 6502a

    Caris

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #8
    Like people have said you won't notice the difference. Save yourself the money.
     
  9. memberako thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.50 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.0.10031/230; U; en))

    Ok. Thanks.
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    yeah, I'd say it's nice for some bragging rights and that feeling that you have the fastest available, but really you will see very little difference. Unless you cough up for the SSD the hard drive is always going to be the bottle neck in this system anyway.
     
  11. ErikCLDR macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #11
    Yea, you're not going to see a very noticeable difference. Its 200mhz...
     
  12. AppleMatt macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    When I upgraded from a Rev. A 12" PowerBook to a Rev. D 12" PowerBook, the biggest noticeable difference was the jump in disk performance.

    The Rev. A had a 4200rpm drive, the Rev. D a 5400rpm. If you're at all concerned about performance, I'd wait until you can get your hands on one and test it, as the MacBook Air has a 4200rpm drive. As edesignuk said, disk performance is typically the biggest bottleneck, depending on task (because the only mechanical device in the whole machine is the disk, and motors and arms are orders of magnitude slower than electrons). I also agree with the consensus here that upgrading by 0.2GHz is a waste of money - buy a nice neoprene sleeve or an external BT mouse instead, and save the change (for the next keynote...)

    AppleMatt
     
  13. memberako thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.50 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.0.10031/230; U; en))

    So 1.6 it is. SSD would really be awesome but the price is just too much for me.
     
  14. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #14
    None of Apple's processor upgrades are really worth it unless your workflow/usage involves alot of processing. Not that there is anything wrong with getting them anyway, but if you want the best value for your money go with the standard processor options.
     
  15. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #15
    200 Mhz doesnt make a HUGE diffrence,
    but going from 2.2GHz to 3.6GHz definately does :D

    if you overclock a 2.2GHz C2Duo to 3.6Ghz it will start out performing quad cores.
     

Share This Page