Macbook Air 11" 2012 Windows 8 Questions?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by sw6lee, Oct 18, 2013.

1. sw6lee macrumors regular

I am currently running mountain lion on my macbook 2012 11inch version, and I am very looking forward to mavericks due to increased battery life and reduced cpu usage.

However, my android devices and macbook really don't go well together in my opinion, so I'm thinking of installing windows 8 or 8.1 via bootcamp.

First of all, I'm pretty new to mac, so just wondering, if bootcamp is same as completely installing the operating system..

Also, I am very concerned about battery life on windows 8 or 8.1 on 11 inch 2012 macbook air. I get usually 5 hours on my mba on mountain lion when around medium brightness, and just web surfing, sometimes youtube videos, and usually non intensive cpu usage is going on.

However, I have heard that battery life on mac is horrible when running windows. Is windows 8 the same? How about 8.1? is battery life improved on mac do you think with windows 8.1?

Oh one more thing, I have a 128gb version, and I have currently 64gb left. Do you think I can install windows 8 or 8.1? Will I have almost no storage left?

Thanks so much!

2. ritmomundo macrumors 68000

ritmomundo

I don't have much experience with bootcamp, so I can't answer those questions, but what issues are you having between your android devices and OS X?

3. sw6lee thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for your reply.