Macbook Air (11") Advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sebastienDS, Nov 30, 2015.

1. sebastienDS macrumors newbie

sebastienDS

Hi everyone,

Does anyone have more info on the future of the Macbook Air 11" ?
    Is it likely to be updated with retina display, or will it probably be discontinued?

I really like the form factor, usb ports, 16:9 ratio (I watch lots of YT and Movies), and the fact that it doesn't have a useless processor (like the 12" Macbook).

The only thing holding me back is the fact that I've been using retina Macbook Pro for a few years now and the MB Air display is only like 130 DPI, so I'm afraid that the quality will be disappointing.

(I work as an airline pilot so I use it on the flightdeck and airports, trains, in bed at hotel, need take it out alot for security scans.. )
    PS. Been using iPad Air 2 but that doesn't keep up in terms of typing and productivity/file management.

Cya

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

It will probably be discontinued, it's the odd man out in the notebook line up with the macbook set to replace both airs at some point.

The processor in the macbook is more than enough for your usage, to be honest though you look like a perfect target for the ipad pro.

3. 3568358 macrumors 6502

What he said ^
    Spot on!

4. ignatius345, Nov 30, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2015

ignatius345 macrumors 6502a

If you're cool with a horrible hybrid UI of using the keyboard and then awkwardly reaching for your screen instead of a mouse/trackpad, yes. Oh, and you also have to be cool with having your screen propped up at one floppy angle instead of having a real, adjustable screen hinge. Also give up having USB ports. While you're giving things up, how about losing the file system? You'll have a lot of fun shuffling files from app to app in iOS, because you won't have folders with visible files like you do in OS X. I guess use Dropbox?