Macbook Air 11" + BootCamp + Windows XP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by alienatf, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. alienatf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #1
    Hi!
    Does anybody have solution how i can install XP on new Air?
    I've got several problem whilee install, and XP doesn't boot:

    1) BootCamp utility doesn't recognize XP CD, so i simply restart with command key.
    2) After sucessfull files copy and reboot there was several error messages:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    3) After reboot:
    [​IMG]

    And system halts.

    Please don't offer my Vista or 7. Software that i need runs only on XP or 2000 %(.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    IIRC XP was not supported so there is no proper drivers for XP. Have you tried e.g. Parallels?
     
  3. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #3
    I can get XP/SP3 to install without any problem, you might be having an issue if you're trying to install a standard, SP1 or SP2 based installation.

    However unless Apple change their mind and offer XP drivers it might not be worth your while even trying to continue.

    Because even if you get XP to install you wont have a fully functioning system without drivers

    Running 2010 Macbook version of the drivers is a partial solution, but while that will let you install some drivers (wireless and audio) you will still be stuck with following issues:

    The MacHAL isn't correct for the Air and will refuses to initialise or install.

    Bootcamp assistant won't load properly

    You always have to press keys at boot to chose XP partiton, you cant set the machine to boot XP by default

    no keyboard control of audio

    no bluetooth support

    Graphics card driver needs manually extracted and installation forced

    Touchpad drivers are incomplete, is clumsy and only has left click
    No control of display brightness, so its on full brightness at all times
    Machine will hang if it goes to sleep

    while most of above could probably be lived with if you really really have to run certain programs on XP, the last three are the deal breakers.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    There have also been issues with some localized versions being incompatible with the drivers when they are available.

    As Hellhammer says if you must stick with this XP, run it in a VM.

    B
     
  5. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #5
    I can't use Parallels or Vmware Fusion because of my software very "stupid": when it run from virtual machine it close with message "you video card does not support layers".

    Software that i need: rt4client, for panasonic videorecorder rt-416k.
    It doesn't work propertly on Windows 7: image doesn't update until i move program window with mouse.

    Run that program and view video from cameras - that's all what i want from new air.
    If trackpad doesn't work propertly - that's not a problem.
    I found they way how to install video drivers: simply download nvdia drivers from nvidia site, extract them and then update driver manually by choosing extracted dir.

    snorkelman
    You mean that original XP SP3 (english) disk can be propertly installed on my new air: 11" 128gb ssd? :)
     
  6. snorkelman, Nov 13, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2010

    snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #6
    if you can accept the driver restrictions i listed above (sounds like you can) then yes it installed without any problems from the install CD on my 11.6/4/64 MBA

    Just make sure you disable all sleep settings and use a wired mouse.

    Had similar reasons for trying it here - some of the access control systems we work with use their own USB devices and are XP only wont run on vista or W7 and cant access their USB devices via a VM.

    Is a shame there isnt XP support I could easily have squuezed all of those old apps and XP into a 4 to 6 gig parition on the MBA an never needed to drag a works laptop to any of those sites..
     
  7. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #7
    So, windows installed sucessfully. Thanks.
    The last thing that i want: Wi-Fi drivers and i think i can use touchpad drivers from previos version or air.

    Can you say me about Wi-Fi, what chipset it use?
     
  8. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #8
    Wifi chipset is broadcom

    Broadcom 802.11n Wireless adapter
    BCMWL5.SYS version 5.60.18.9

    (I picked that up from a bootcamp 3.0 drivers disc for a 2010 MackBook)


    Older MBA drivers might be an option for the trackpad, I didnt think of trying those, but if memory serves me right you'll need the bootcamp assistant to work too (in order to get tap to click, right click etc out of the trackpad?)

    In which case you could hit the same MacHAL and bootcamp assistant issues using MBA Rev A/B/ drivers as I got when trying to use the 2010 Macbook driver set.
     
  9. alienatf, Nov 13, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2010

    alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #9
    Yes, Wi-Fi works.
    The last thing i want: it's right mouse click on trackpad.

    iFixit says that:
    Seems like old drivers from bootcamp should help.
    But i don't have that disk.

    Also i think, that drivers from
    http://support.apple.com/downloads/Multi_Touch_Trackpad_Update_1_1_for_Windows
    can help ---- already tried. Doesn't help :(

    Or drivers from old macbook air - i think bootcamp drivers from old air can help.

    But i don't know how to get them from .exe file.
     
  10. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #10
    you can use winrar to extract them from the .exe file you'll then have three files the one you want is AppleMultiTouchTrackpadInstaller.exe

    however although it will then install and claim its ready to use, you still wont have right click or multitouch or right click
     
  11. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #11
    Yeah, you are right.
    Also manual update each HID device and Trackpad doesn't work.
    I think there must be solution for that.

    My programm have to use right click once :(
     
  12. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #12
    if its just occasional use then theres an applemouseclick remapper program that lets you use Ctrl key and left mouse click to generate a right mouseclick

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Deskto...esktop-Enhancements/Apple-Mouse-Utility.shtml

    you could add it to startup folder so it loads each time XP boots?

    Shift and F10 can do it too but it isnt quite as precise as above file (can end up right clicking the wrong thing)
     
  13. alienatf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    #13

    Wow! Thank you very very much!!!!!
    :D:D:D:D:D
     
  14. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #14
    you're welcome, happy to help :)
     
  15. omgsy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #15
    i have a qeustion. I have the exact same problem and had the problem in the installation. However i could reboot into the Windows XP but does not have ANY access cus of the permission that i had the error in the installation.

    what exactly is THAT original XP SP3 cus i have a cd that is XP SP3 and that was the one that gave me the error. anyone have any clue on how to fix this error?
     
  16. webget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #16
    Broadcom wifi driver found

    Ironically, i found the broadcom wifi driver for the Macbook air 2011 version.
    it is inside the Lenovo V470 driver pack (IN6WLN49WW1.exe) :

    http://driverscollection.com/?aid=428689532372de5d9b955903d59

    after running the exe in XP, it extract into several driver folder including
    XP, win7 and vista, then u can update the network driver by
    pointing to the XP directory.

    it comes with the BCMWL5.sys and BCMWL5.inf under the XP directory
    (my search on it root from 2 keywords: BCMWL6.sys and BCMWL6.inf
    which is the win7 version of the driver)
     

Share This Page