Macbook Air --- 1440 X 900 Screen Upgrade like MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by chemistslime, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. chemistslime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #1
    Hi everyone,
    I don't know if this subject has been brought up or not but I know there is a thread in the MBP section with people upgrading their screens from 1440 X 900 to 1920 X 1200 with a swap of the LCD panel.

    Now with the Lenovo coming up with the X300 with a 1440 X 900 screen resolution on a 13.3 inch panel, does anyone foresee an "easy" swap to enable a macbook air with a higher resolution screen? Or better yet, has anyone done such a swap? Thanks.
     
  2. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #2
    In theory, it is possible, but very unlikely to be accomplished easily.

    The Air's lcd unit is very difficult to disassemble, and it is possible that Apple is using a specialized panel different from anything on the market in terms of thinness. But in theory, a very able person could do it, but it wouldn't be recommended.
     
  3. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Pretty much what cheddar said. Unless you have a great deal of technical expertise with doing this, you wouldn't want to do it yourself. The best option would be for Apple to offer the higher res screen as a BTO option on the Air, but I doubt this will happen anytime soon. Apple tends to not be very good at responding to the competition, Steve just kinda gets a vision and they go for it regardless of what any competitor is doing.
     
  4. rishi13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #4
    Now that the Lenovo makes the X300 with a 1440x900 LED backlit LCD, I can see this definitely being a possibility. I would me very interested in attempting this. Now only if I can find where to buy a 1440x900 LED backlit LCD ....
     
  5. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #5
    yeah mate should be fairly easy if the panels are the same design.

    i say go for it :)
     
  6. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #6
    Hell, you can't even switch out the battery easily.

    You're dreaming big dreams screwing with the LCD. Just go get a pro if you want the pixels.
     
  7. l008com macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #7
    What about the regular macbooks? I just ordered a black 2.4GHz Macbook. And I've LOVE to swap out the panel for something matte instead of glossy. And if I could also get 1440x900 instead of 1280x800, that would kick an unlimited amount of ass.
     
  8. ducatidoc macrumors regular

    ducatidoc

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #8
    well there ya go, buy the x300 replacement screen, install it on an air, and then ebay your old mba screen to the HORDES of new MB owners that are seeking an easy swap out for a matte screen.
     
  9. l008com macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
  10. ducatidoc macrumors regular

    ducatidoc

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #10
    my bad, not matte but seems less reflective than the new mb (i own both)
     
  11. workerbee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #11
    I'd be quite interested in a side-by-side photo of these two. :cool:
    When I looked at the new laptops in the Apple store, I had the impression that the (old) MBA's screens were much better than the MacBook's (and less glossy, too, of course).
     
  12. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
  13. iPave macrumors member

    iPave

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #13
    MacBook Air has also glossy screen.
     
  14. workerbee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #14
    Glossy, yes. But just not as ridiculously glossy as the new MB/MBPs. (Aside: interesting that "glossy" seems to have turned into something positive, when just a few years back anyone would have quite rightly agreed that this is a bad thing. The power of marketing...).

    Also, viewing angle of the MBA screen is much better than on the MB, IMHO.
     
  15. Mactagonist macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #15
    The MBA screen is much better then the new MB screen. Both the MBA and the MBP have much better screens then the new MB.

    The MBA is also the only screen that doesnt have a glass casing now. Even though it is still glossy it is not as glossy as the glossy + glass cover screens on the MBP and MB.
     
  16. The Awesome macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Philippines
    #16
    Thinness issues in the MBA manufacturing process, most likely.
     
  17. dudup macrumors regular

    dudup

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    #17
    Sorry, it's no marketing. You can't judge things using forums and internet people as parameters. Most people do like glossy. It'll always been something positive, you can see nearly every top spec peecee with glossy screens.

    I work on an office with tons of PCs with matte screens, and everyone's envy of the MBA's screen. I never saw anyone stating "oh, it's to glossy". Instead, they get amazed.

    I don't care about glossy, TBH. I care about brightness, contrast and view angle. Any screen that beats on these aspects will have my love, be it matte or glossy.
     
  18. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #18
    Putting a MBA screen in a Macbook would be pointless if not impossible.

    1. The Macbook screen is behind glass, and is assembled at the factory as part of the lid.
    2. Even if you managed to remove the glass and replace the LCD, without the glass your screen would have no structural integrity. (and would be ugly as heck.
     
  19. Mactagonist macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #19
    Yeah. That or weight issues. I am very happy with the MBA screen so I am ok with its exclusion.
     
  20. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #20
    Yes!!! In theory it's very possible and likely to happen soon! Why?

    Well, Sony are offering people the opportunity to custom build their Type-Z notebooks with a 1600 by 900px 13.1" TFT! Now Sony users their own XBlack super thin parts.

    If you think about it.. If you can buy high-res 1600 by 900px panels, why not 1600 by 1000 panels too??
    Though, there's one one other hurdle you'll have to over come... The custom connector cable, asuming it's non-standard.

    :D
     
  21. im_noahselby macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    Sony also has their 1600x900 Vaio Z's available as pre-configured machines, if anyone is interested.

    As a happy owner of the z, I will say that the screen is incredibly thin. It is the most beautiful 13" matte display I have ever used. However, unlike the MBA screen, the Sony display is 13.1" and 16x10 (better for most movies, no black bars), which makes the profile of this laptop a little bit wider and lower then most laptops.

    After using this display, I will never go back to 1280x800... The extra screen real estate on such a small and compact laptop is so incredibly useful and appreciated.
     
  22. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    I think what you need to make sure is that the screen replacement is LED. From the looks of the Lenovo 13" screen, it is LED - making me think the replacement would work.

    Can you imagine a MBA with a high-res screen and one of those new X18-M drives from Intel?

    I would probably do that in a second if someone shows me that's feasible.

    If you figure the updated MBA's have competent graphics, hi-res screen and SSD. What wouldn't there be to like?
     
  23. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #23
    The screen in the MBA is around 3mm thick so unless the Lenovo screen is around 3mm thick it will be a hard swap.
     
  24. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #24
    Geez, you ever heard about replying to "current" threads? You really woke this one up from the dead!

    I seriously doubt any way possible that the Mac would display in the higher resolution as it would set specific settings via Mac's hardware identifier. An Air doesn't have that setting is my guess. No way in the world would that work.

    No way... If there was a way, it would have been figured out long before you brought this thread back to life.
     
  25. jfyrfytr25 macrumors 6502a

    jfyrfytr25

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #25
    i really HATE reading half way through a thread just to look over and see it is a YEAR OLD...

    c'mon look at the dates before a post.
     

Share This Page