MacBook Air and CoD:MW2?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ayeying, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #1
    If you're wondering. Here's a small vid of me playing. Yeah, I suck, really bad, stop laughing :(

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmy3WhMIfCk

    Btw, I know I said I overclock my CPU but I completely forgot to for this video... so yeah, it's on stock speed settings.
     
  2. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #3
    Video's still processing... youtube's kinda slow today.
     
  3. nick1516 macrumors 6502a

    nick1516

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #4
    What settings are you running it on? I can't really tell because the video is grainy but from what I watched it looked like it runs well.
     
  4. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    Yeah, I'm not sure why but it was extremely bad quality from my iPhone.

    I'm doing 720x480 resolution with automatic settings for textures and shaders. I don't get any frame drops even running into a field of smoke.
     
  5. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #6
    from watching the video, it seems certainly playable for on-the-go type CoD fix. very impressed.

    edit: does steam carry your stats when you switch from one computer to the next? I'd be interested but i dont to start at lvl 1 again...
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    How is the game. Friends want me to buy it, but I don't want to.
     
  7. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #8
    What are your video settings? You look like you're getting a better framerate than I get on my 2.8Ghz MBP w/9600m.
     
  8. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #9
    I'm wondering about that also. I haven't installed it on the iMac yet, only been playing on the air so I dont know if it carries over or not. I'm at lvl 45 and I really don't wanna restart at lvl 1 again lol

    The video doesn't show the smoothness of the game. It's just as smooth as playing on an XBox or PS3, so I'm guessing frame rates are at least 30FPS at the least. It looks even better running it off my 20" Dell External LCD. Here's the exact settings:

    Resolution: 720x480

    Advanced Video >

    Aspect Ratio: Auto
    Anti-aliasing: Off
    Screen Refresh Rate: 60Hz
    Sync Every Frame: No
    Shadows: No
    Specular Map: No
    Depth of Field: Yes
    Soften Smoke Edges: No
    Ragdoll: Yes
    Bullet Impacts: Yes
    Texture Quality: Manual
    Texture Resolution: Extra
    Normal Map Resolution: Extra
    Specular Map Resolution: Extra
     
  9. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #10
    Those are exactly my settings except for AA is 2x and resolution is 1280x800. I also have ragdoll turned off but I don't think that really does anything. I may have to recommend the new 13" MBP to a friend who does a bit of gaming. The 9400m seems very capable if graphics aren't a huge deal to you.
     
  10. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #11
    AA will kill performance like crazy. Turn it off and you'll probably find it running better.
     
  11. Sijmen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #12
    So it runs okay on native resolution? That’s really good to hear.
     
  12. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #13
    answering my earlier question, steam does transfer your rank/ stats from multiplayer. Ran MW2 on my late 08 Unibody Macbook 2.4 and saw great results. Seems the resolution of 1280x800 is just too small to play on for long periods of time.
     
  13. iloverclie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #14
    Very impressive, good smooth graphics. This 9400m sure can do its thing!
     
  14. Mintin8 macrumors 6502a

    Mintin8

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    NoobTuber :p Ha. Thank you ayeying for all your videos. MW2 is a really good game isn't it. Got it for the 360, might buy it for the pc soon.
     
  15. Fry-man22 macrumors 6502

    Fry-man22

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #16
    No the OP said 720x480 with no AA - not native res on the Air (1200x800 or so). Basically it can do wide screen SD which for a pretty high end FPS on an integrated card is still cool.

    Like the OP also said, any AA will really impact performance...
     

Share This Page