Macbook air and Powermac or imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iTechInfo, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. iTechInfo macrumors newbie

    iTechInfo

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #1
    hey guys im going to get a macbook air (new) and was thinking of also getting an imac (used) or powermac (used) the imac would be a 17" or 20" white imac
    the powermac a 1.8ghz-2.5ghz
    cheers
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Don't buy PowerPC based Macs. iMac comes with a display so I would get one but make sure it's Intel
     
  3. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    why not getting a powerpc processor mac? , they are still good performing
    and the lamp (iMac g4 ) 20 inch is a design icon for collectors , and still usable
    for normal use
    the used intel macs are way overpriced , in most cases they are sold at a price range that brings them already close to a basic NEW version of the same mac , on which you got warranty
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    They DON'T perform well. ANY Intel Mac is faster than PPC (excluding G5 PowerMacs and maybe iMacs). There is no support for PPC anymore and buying one is waste of money IMO unless you would use it as a server or smth like that.

    Sure they can still be used but almost all web sites have Flash nowadays and they just can't handle it properly. Why not to pay little more and get Mac that is still supported in future
     
  5. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    my eMac has no problems with flash , i dont know what all the fuss is about with intel
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Does Youtube videos work without lag? How about websites with Flash content? I don't have a PPC Mac so I'm just telling what I've heard... But seriously, PPC is old, admit it. Buy one is same as buying a PC with Pentium 4 inside. Sure it works but is it worth it?
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Even my 2GHz DualCore G5 had serious problems with Flash!

    Flash is a general issue on OS X since it's only software rendered and the faster the processor, the better OS X can handle Flash. Since the Intel processors are way more powerful than the old Power PC processors, it runs better on the current systems.
     
  8. Jayomat macrumors 6502a

    Jayomat

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #8
    go with intel.. future proof.. the slight cost benefit of PPC vs Intel will not last in the long run..

    in most cases ;)
     
  9. newuser2310 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #9
    I was running a PPC machine until December last year. I didn't know what the big deal was. The new intel machine I bought in January simply crushes it in every way and its only the basic spec running a c2d.
     
  10. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #10
    youtube works fine as long as i dont select hd video content , and i rarely use youtube anyway , but all the videos about ppc macs on youtube work just fine
    and for flash content , i do some online games (mafia wars @facebook) and it just works fine , and for other websites i have not the slightest problem , they just open fine , thats why i often dont understand it when others with same G4 eMacs/imacs have problems , ok the fact that i upgraded the ram to 2GB kingston platinum series on it might help a bit
     
  11. ImpostorOak macrumors member

    ImpostorOak

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    #11
    Any Intel Mac you get now is going to kick the crap out of any PPC Mac you'll get. But that's not even why you shouldn't get one. Apple has stopped supporting PPC on new versions of OSX. This may not seem like a big deal now since PPCs can use Leopard and the current is Snow Leopard; but as new versions of the OS come out, you'll be stuck with Leopard for all eternity.
     
  12. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #12
    .., they might be better , faster or whatever ,but i love the old mac's and so far apart from hd video i did not come across anything i could not do with them ,
    and i think they look more authentic with the older operating systems , but thats just my opinion , you dont have to agree or follow me there
    when i tried leopard on my eMac (which did not improve the overall performance on my eMac ) i felt like i had committed a crime and showed remorse and put tiger back on....

    but i have to say i dont use the computer at home to earn money with it , just for fun and as a hobby ,so i prefer style over high performance and i have seen snow leopard and used it when i setup a mates iMac i7 , its just too flashy , dont like that at all
     
  13. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #13
    well the proc does have a lot to do with flash but also the gpu has a lot to do with it
     
  14. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    for what's it worth, my pb runs like crap... Flash and youtube forget about it. My imac however I have no real issues with everyday stuff.
    See sig for specs)
     
  15. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    Only get the MacBook Air if you have another computer, unless you only do very light computing. Because the MacBook Air is pretty limiting :rolleyes:
     
  16. ImpostorOak macrumors member

    ImpostorOak

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    #16
    I can't believe I'm actually reading this. You're kidding, right? Please tell me you're kidding.
     
  17. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Did you really notice a difference from Tiger to Leopard?

    I used Tiger for almost 3 years till I moved to Leopard and besides the new styled Dock, I haven't noticed any major difference. It feels absolutely the same and performance improvements weren't noticeable for me.

    The same applies for Snow Leopard, after using Leopard for almost a year, I haven't noticed any difference at all (besides the slightly modified Exposé and the new functionality of stacks which I use constantly).

    But for me, all three versions are basically the same OS. All of them are rock solid (on my computers) and fast.
     

Share This Page