MacBook Air Feels Laggy

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Garemz, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. Garemz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta Canada
    #1
    I have the 1.6 80 HDD Version of the MBA and it feels laggy sometimes.

    For example Yesterday I was watching some Video Podcasts (Cranky Geeks) The video would stutter, the only thing that was going on in the background was Podcasts were being copied to my Apple TV.

    Firefox sometimes goes laggy and the Beach Ball appears.


    The OS feels laggy sometimes also not always but sometimes, I never multi task on this thing.

    Anyone have these problems.

    Cheers
    Gary
     
  2. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #2
    I have a MacBook Pro and MacBook Air. For email, surfing, iphoto, itunes seems fine. No real difference between my two machines for those kinds of things
     
  3. ozthegweat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    Check activity monitor if your MBA is still running on both cores.

    My MBA shuts down one core when playing back any kind of video, which is really annoying, cause everything becomes slow and the video stutters.
     
  4. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #4
    Hmm, I don't use FF, but now you've got me thinking when I've seen the beach ball. I've seen it when Adium hangs-- but I saw that on the iMac and MB so I think that's unique to Adium. ;)

    But related to that...

    Feeling laggy? Yes, I think I'd agree with that. But I guess it also depends on what you're comparing it to. My MB and iMac were and are more than sufficient for my needs-- they feel plenty quick.

    And what do you mean by multi-tasking? Which apps? Which sorts of tasks?

    Yes, video is a killer-- whether it's watching streamed video, or say video chat-- the MBA just gets brutalized. Super duper hot to the touch and fans go nuts. That's a bit disappointing but not exactly unexpected. :)

    At any rate, I've noticed some weird "lag-like" issues but seriously wonder if it's even hardware related-- I think Leopard is buggy as hell and I think Apple has stretched themselves too damned thin. Mail.app has issues all the time, iTunes isn't creating true iPhone backups, etc. etc.

    Whew. That was a wordy post, sorry. :eek:
     
  5. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I'm not finding this to be true, and I am used to a MacBook Pro C2D and a Mac Pro 2.8. The C2D 1.8 is a very nice chip, as is the 1.6 for that matter. The x3100 surpasses my expectations.
     
  6. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    Well, maybe your MBA is just that much cooler than mine. ;)

    Seriously, I use Skype for video chats nearly every single day. On the MBA? It makes it crazy hot to the touch and makes my fans ramp up. Does it work? Yes. Is it worth the noise and discomfort for me to have video chat on the MBA when my iMac is just "over there?" No. I use Skype on the iMac... and try not to use it on the MBA.
     
  7. steve31 macrumors 6502a

    steve31

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    #7
    This is an issue that a lot of people seem to be having. I have the 1.8 with SSD HD and have not yet seen any lag. I did read over in apple support that some one said "apple was aware of this and was working on it" so there might be hope for a quick solution. I have noticed with mine that if I stream a lot of video the fan speed does max out quickly.
     
  8. hoyaspook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #8
    How can I tell if both cores are running on Activity Monitor?
     
  9. Garemz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta Canada
    #9
    Go to activity monitor click on CPU and see if there is CPU usage on both cores
     
  10. Frozonecold macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    #10
    Hmmn, check how much ram firefox is using. I used to have firefox trouble on my iMac. It would use 400Mb+ of memory.
     
  11. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #11
    Very true when I use my MBP and Air. Double check your activity monitor or if you like good old terminal, top -u.
     

Share This Page