Macbook Air for programming

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by CBX, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. CBX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #1
    Hi:

    Just wondering if anyone knows how the Air (either Rev A or B) stands up to programming, specifically using IDE's like JDeveloper or Eclipse.

    Im undecided between the Macbook (which I would upgrade to 4GB) and the Air (purely because I really like the form factor).

    I know the Macbook would be the better performer but wondered if the Air could cut it for such tasks.

    JDeveloper states system requirements of 2GB. I have used JDeveloper on a windows box with 2GB - I would hope this would mean it would be OK on the Air? Just looking for some real world experience as its not something I can try in the Apple Store (I think)?

    If only there was a BTO option of 4GB with the Air!
     
  2. pstoehr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Scheßlitz, Oberfranken, Bavaria, Germany
    #2
    Hi,

    I'm using a Rev B, 186GHz SSD.
    Up to now I had no real problems using XCode, Eclipse and NetBeans even for larger projects. The only drawback is the small screen, but working at home with a 24" Cinema Display is really great!

    Using VMware even Visual Stuido 2008 is runnig fast enough for some smaller C# projects.

    Unfortunately not ...

    Best regards
    Peter
     
  3. sookainian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Yes, i'm using Visual Stuido 2008 on Parallels Desktop. Works fine. No lag or what so ever.

    But it will run smoother if you use it with Boot Camp.
     
  4. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for the info Peter.

    I thought Eclipse would be Ok as its (in comparison) a fairly small footprint compared to JDev.

    JDev on the other hand can be quite unperformant on larger projects.

    Its interesting that you are able to run both vmware and VS2008 without any issue (at least on smaller projects).

    It sounds like it would be enough for what I would need - just wondering if I could get away with the HD version as the SSD is pretty $$

    BTW Have you tried using virtualbox as an alternative to vmware?
     
  5. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5

    Are you using the Rev B SSD too?
     
  6. sookainian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    Rev A or B is the 1st gen MacBook Air ??

    Mine is the 1st gen Macbook Air 1.6ghz 80GB. Not the SSD model, i got it on Feb 2008.
     
  7. pstoehr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Scheßlitz, Oberfranken, Bavaria, Germany
    #7
    HI,
    no. I'm working as Professor at a Univeristy that why I get VMware free of charge ;-)

    Best regards
    Peter
     
  8. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
  9. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #9
    Wow - I only expected the 2nd Gen to be able to run that well - thanks for the info.

    Makes my decision harder as I guess now I should consider the 1st Gen refurb!
     
  10. pstoehr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Scheßlitz, Oberfranken, Bavaria, Germany
    #10
    Rev A --> 80GBytes

    Hi MBX,

    do you think that the 80GByte disc is enough for you.

    Greetings from Bavaria
    Peter
     
  11. CBX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #11
    Im not sure if 80GB would be enough for me TBH. If i went down that road I think I may have to increase the HD size.
     
  12. flipside217 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #12
    totally forgot about that one, thank you!. Anybody know the performance comparision on vs vm fusion? I'm running a rev A 1.6 80.
     
  13. pstoehr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    Scheßlitz, Oberfranken, Bavaria, Germany
    #13
    Virtualbox <-> vmware

    Hi,

    some students have tried virtulabox on a MB (2.4GHz) and a MBP.
    Windows XP works fine.
    The performace of these installations was not impressive compared to vmware running on my MBA. Compiling some C# programs on my MBA was not noticable slower than the MB using virtualbox.

    Best regards
    Peter
     
  14. MorningZ macrumors newbie

    MorningZ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #14
    I too can vouch for Visual Studio 08 running fine on the Air (mine's the 1.8 gHz and 64 SSD)

    little sluggish to built and "catch up" in Intellisense when running via VMWare Fusion, but runs excellent when booted into Windows directly (running an nLite'd version of XP Home)

    I'm a Microsoft guy in Apple's world, so I have no advice or experience with XCode or the like
     
  15. ddemuth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #15
    My Air for Programming

    I recently bought the 1.8 gHz and 64 SSD MacBook Air online at the Apple Store for $1,299. It's Revision A and I have no problems with it at all. I don't do much Java development anymore -- thank god -- so I'm sorry I can't respond to the OP. However, if anyone else finds this thread after searching google (it's the first when searching for "Programming on a MacBook Air") my blog post may be of some use.

    I have a few screen-shots up with Textmate, a Browser, and terminal, all open at once and switching w/ spaces. It works out well for me and couldn't ask for more in something so small and light.
    http://ddemuth.blogspot.com/2009/02/programming-on-macbook-air.html

    My primary programming laptops in the past have been a 17" Dell XPS and a 15.4" Lenovo T61p.
     
  16. SSkky Reader macrumors newbie

    SSkky Reader

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    #16
    Thanks for this post and thread. I wasn't to sure about my Air when it arrives in the mail but I'm sure the 1.86 SSD version should hold up to some intense c++/c along with PHP Java Script and AJAX.... I'll use my shell scripting and UNIX & open GL variations on My Mac Pro. I did find it interesting that your doing python also on a 1st gen Air. Anyway thanks for the thread and some of the post on this forum;)
    :apple:



     
  17. sanPietro98 macrumors 6502a

    sanPietro98

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    28.416834,-81.581214
    #17
    XCode and Eclipse work fine on my 1st geb MBA (1.6, HDD).

    No lags, no issues, no overheating.
     
  18. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #18
    I use Eclipse and JBoss A/S on a RevA daily. Works great.

    And use XCode on this at least 5-6 hours a week.
     
  19. manhattanboy macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #19
    I have revB SSD and xcode runs fine... its great to be able to whip out some code while eating a burrito and sipping soda... gotta love the air :cool:
     

Share This Page