MacBook Air For student

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Dave245, Jun 18, 2014.

1. Dave245 macrumors 601

I'm currently thinking about getting a MacBook Air and passing down my 2011 MacBook Pro to a family member. There are a couple of questions I have.

1. Has anyone upgraded from a MacBook Pro 2011 to the MacBook Air 2014, seen a big difference in speeds?

2. Would I see a difference in the MacBook Air if I upgraded from the standard 1.4ghz to the 1.7ghz i7? Custom spec on Apples website.

Being a student I would get a student discount on the Mackbook Air, I'm considering waiting until Apple also announce their back to school promo. The reason I'm considering a MacBook Air, is because of the 12 hour battery life and the portability.

What have your experiences been like for those of you who have moved from a MacBook Pro to a MacBook Air?

2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

T5BRICK

This is really going to depend on how you plan on using the MBA. The 1.7GHz i7 has a much higher turbo frequency, but if you aren't really pushing the computer you may not notice the difference.

Just yesterday I was reading about Best Buy having a $150 student discount on their MBAs. There was an additional $100 discount as well. You might want to check that out.

3. Dave245, Jun 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2014

Dave245 thread starter macrumors 601

I plan on using the MacBook Air for writing essays, taking notes in lectures, web browsing, watching TV shows (I have a lot of content from iTunes) I would also be doing a little video and maybe photo editing, because my course is TV/movie making based.

Unfortunately I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the Best Buy offer because I'm in the UK :(

4. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

i5/8GB/256GB 13" MBA would be ideal, I do similar stuff as you and I went with the specs I mentioned.