Macbook Air + Garageband Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Kristian3000, Jun 20, 2014.

1. Kristian3000 macrumors newbie

Kristian3000

Hi there!

What's the 11inch MBA like with recording audio in Garageband?

I am a guitarist and like recording lots of guitar overdubs on top of MIDI drum tracks. Obviously I'd also need to buy a USB interface as the MBA has no audio in.

But will the new MBA be able to handle this? Will there be much latency?

I currently use an 8GB Mac Mini (2011) and it is just fine, but I don't know how the MBA will fare in comparison.

Any advice y'all can give would be great.

Thank you!

2. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

Boyd01

I used Garageband for awhile with no problems on my 2011 MBA, but then switched to Logic Pro. It runs great for me, although I rarely use more than 4 analog tracks to record. Using a 4 channel Akai EIE Pro interface, I get about 9ms roundtrip latency in Logic. I previously used a 2 channel interface and latency was much less, but I like the ability to use 4 microphones.

I record directly to the SSD on the MBA. I have the i7/8gb/512gb 2013 MBA. On my 2011 i5/4gb/256gb MBA, latency in Logic pro was about 13ms using the same 4 channel interface.

3. Kristian3000 thread starter macrumors newbie

Kristian3000

Thanks for your reply.

I visited an Apple store today and asked the sales guy a few questions and he basically said, "the processor will struggle if you have too many Garageband tracks playing at once".

He recommended I go for a Macbook Pro or high-end iMac! Neither of which I can afford :-(

Do you think he is just trying to sell me the higher priced machines, or does he have a valid point?

4. Altemose macrumors G3

Altemose

What is your budget? I think the person was trying to be honest and overestimate your needs which is a good rule of thumb. If you say 10 tracks in GarageBand and Logic, that could double as you want to experiment with new instruments and tracks for example.