macbook air good enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sendaii, Feb 7, 2014.

1. Sendaii macrumors member

Thinking about purchasing a 13-inch macbook air for programming, using Sublime Text as well as Xcode.
    Do you think the macbook air has sufficient enough power? And what, if any, upgrades should I add to it before ordering?

2. virulent macrumors newbie

it's way more than enough.

if you searched you'd probably find everyone screams "8GB RAM !!!" so you probably want to go for that. as a developer myself also it's easy to use up 8 GB if you really want to and it's not as constricting as 4.

3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

If you're only planning on running 1VM at a time, or just xcode, 4gb is fine. You'll start to run into trouble if you have Photoshop, a web server, iTunes, and a VM with Visual Studio all going at once though.

From personal experience :D

Keep in mind, if you want to use an emulator (Android or WP) that's going to use another 1gb+ of RAM. If you're using it for "enterprise" work, with large projects and 100000+ of lines of code, you'll probably want more... everything.

And if you plan on doing anything related to Android development, you'll want a 32-core Mac Pro from 2016.

4. Dweez macrumors 65816

Dweez

Yes, it's more than sufficient. Go get it! :)

5. kage207 macrumors 6502a

I love my MBA 13". I just wish I got a bigger HDD as I got the 128GB. The 256GB HDD would be the best if you are going to have a VM copy on your machine.

I also went with the 8GB of RAM. The reason I got is because I usually run, Xcode, Calendars, Mail, Reminders, Messages, Safari (or Chrome), iTunes, DropBox, ColorPicker, and Box all at the same time. Though right now I have iTunes off and watching Netflix on my external monitor as I do my web development for my personal site as it is my time to relax on Saturday.

Yes, the MBA is amazing. I just recommend 8GB of RAM and 256GB HDD (SSD). i7 isn't worth it.