MacBook Air HDD issue?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Stanoefc, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. Stanoefc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #1
    So i just got my brand new MacBook Air for Christmas (WOOOOO!!!!!!) and i checked the "Storage" in "System preferences" and it said "106GB left out of 120GB".

    I just want to know were has that 14GB gone? All's i had done is do a system update and it downloaded a few files and installed them. Is this normal? Should 14GB be gone?

    Thanks.
     
  2. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #2
    first your macbook air has an ssd, not an hdd.

    that is the space that the operating system takes up. You never get the entire 120gb.
     
  3. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    yes this is normal. Mac OS X takes up a few GB, updates, etc.
    How large were the files?

    for example my iPod touch (before it was stolen :( ) was sold as a 32gb but there was only 29gb accesible to me.


    Enjoy your air
     
  4. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #4
    OS need some space , depend on what you all installed. Bringing out the gababage also helps (empty the trash)
     
  5. Stanoefc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #5
    Well it has OS x lion, the updates were a lion update (10.7.2) which was 830mb, a lion recovery update which was 450mb and a few 10 mb updates.

    Is this normal? Is the OS space suppose the be that much?
     
  6. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #6
    yes it's normal, stop worrying so much and just use your computer ;)
     
  7. BlackViper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #7
    OS X installs many languages/drivers by default, most users can save a couple GB removing non-English languages and un-used drivers. Your MBA should have also come with iLife installed, this is another few GB you can save if you don't plan on using all the apps. I have only iPhoto on my MBA.

    With a new machine, it didn't take me long to erase and re-install the os, leaving out some of the optional items and iLife. Be sure to register your copy of the iLife apps in the Mac App store if you want to be able to re-download them later. It took me about 1.5Hrs to setup my MBA this way and I was able to save about 5GB of space.
     
  8. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Yes your preinstalled application needs space too.
    And you have a SSD not a HDD.
     
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  10. ET iPhone Home, Dec 25, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011

    ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #10
    Yes, as mentioned, don't confuse HHD with SSD - huge difference. OSX takes the balance of the space, so yes your left with the majority.

    (EDIT) Reposted elsewhere.
     
  11. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #11
    Was wondering the same thing.

    An MBA for someone that does not understand SSD/HHD or know that the OS takes up space.

    Rather expensive starter computer.
     
  12. tecknik1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Location:
    HCM Vietnam
    #12

    How did you delete the languages you don't use non essential apps?
     
  13. Stanoefc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #13
    1) No this is obviously not my first computer.
    2) too all you people saying "you know it's SSD not HDD", yes! I do ********* know! I just put HDD down accidentally and could not be arsed trying to change it.
     

Share This Page