MacBook Air in clamshell mode

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by rip-the-jacker, Jun 17, 2015.

  1. rip-the-jacker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #1
    hey guys,

    I have just sold my Mac Pro as it was way way overkill for my needs so now I'm using my air, I have setup upstairs on a dock but cannot connect to the Internet.

    Is that because of the antenna being on the inside or something? Am I correct in saying if I get a usb to Ethernet and connect via a powerline link for the electrical socket and then disable wireless altogether will that sort the connection problem?

    Just want to ask before I shell out on the parts in case I am misinformed



    Thanks guys, RTJ
     
  2. helveta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #2
    I use my mba in clamshell mode every day and never have a problem connecting to wireless.
     
  3. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #3
    Is your Mba close to your router at all? Mine is downstairs in the living room.


    RTJ
     
  4. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #4
    Some of the first polycarbonate MacBooks had their antennas positioned in such a way that wifi would stop working when they were in lid-closed mode. This was a bummer.

    I haven't had any problems with using wifi in lid-closed mode with my MBA though.

    Just to confirm, it can pick up the wifi signal with the lid open?
     
  5. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #5
    Yeah, the weird thing is it seems to be working now?wtf? I'm ordering the stuff and going to hardware anyways.



    RTJ
     
  6. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #6
    Shouldn't be a huge outlay. There are some adapters for $10 that get good reviews on Amazon.
     
  7. rip-the-jacker thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #7
    Hardware setup, works a treat now. Real pleased.


    RTJ
     

Share This Page