MacBook Air or MacBook + iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bigp9998, Jul 8, 2011.

1. bigp9998 macrumors regular

I'm waiting for MBA and MB updates but I'd like to get some thoughts on this comparison.

They end up costing around the same for me when you factor in student discounts and gift card from Best Buy (to match Apple promo).

Macbook $899 (Student Price)
    ~$40 to upgrade to 4GB RAM
    iPad 16GB WiFi $499
    -$100 from Best Buy gift card
    =$1340

Macbook Air w/ 4GB RAM $1339 (Student Price)
    =$1340

They really do want to make this decision difficult, don't they...I'm a student and I don't really need the ultra-portable that the Air offers, but it would be nice to have. I also have no use for a disc drive, and I like that the Air has an SSD and hi-res screen. I could use the iPad for things like Netflix (is wireless internet really fast enough to stream movies to an iPad??) and browsing. One reason I am leaning towards that is because I do not have a smartphone so it would be nice to have a portable internet solution. Has anybody else made this decision or have any thoughts about it?

2. tmarks11 macrumors 6502

If I was a student again (I remember my 7 yrs of college fondly...), I think the 11" MBA would be my choice of the two options you mentioned. Same weight, almost same size as ipad, easier to take notes on, so I would put it in my backpack and lug it to class with me. Hopefully more colleges will soon be embracing the new millinium of technology, and etextbooks will become the norm.

MBA makes a great netflix player as well. i have 2010 11" MBA+2ipad first gen. Love them all, I would buy another 2011 MBA, except that I am not fond of Apple abandoning discrete GPUs (assuming the rumor mills are correct).

Unfortunately, MBA isn't offered with a 3G option. Maybe Apple will fix that when they offer new MBA next week.