Macbook Air or Macbook Pro for college

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Toughpuddle, Aug 5, 2009.

1. Toughpuddle macrumors newbie

This is the first Mac I will be buying, I've never been a huge fan of Apple I prefer my Pre to the Iphone but that's a whole other story. I'm heading off to college this fall and I want a lightweight portable laptop that will suit my needs. I really only use my laptop for internet, office, and basic video/music/picture editing. I don't drive, so I'll be carrying my laptop with me on the bus/train and just walking around the majority of the time.

I was wondering which model would better suit my needs, the 2.53GHz 13 inch MBP and I add my own SSD drive or the refurb 2.13GHz Macbook Air?

Or just get the baseline MBP 13 and put my own ram and SSD drive in?

2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

I got a MBA a few years back and I regret it. I wish I had gotten a MB/MBP. Unless weight is a concern (and let's be honest, the full laptops don't weigh that much more) I'd go with a MB/MBP. The MBA doesn't get you anything and tends to cost a fair amount more for lower specced hardware.

3. IBradMac macrumors 68000

IBradMac

Agreed. The MBP is is freakin' sweet.

4. drjuice macrumors member

I think the better value would be the Macbook Pro. In fact, I'd say get the baseline 13" Pro, then upgrade it. You'll miss 0.27 GHz - which you might not even notice - but you'll save $300 to throw at upgrades.

You'll probably run into some sort of wall with the Air faster than with even the baseline Pro - no built-in optical drive, 1 USB port, no Firewire, something.

And I'd say upgrade the RAM before throwing an SSD in there. For the price of a 120 GB SSD (at newegg, anyway) you could easily go to 4GB and toss in a 320 or even 500 GB mechanical HDD - I dropped a 320 Hitachi (5400 RPM) in my unibody MacBook for $80. Now I've got plenty of space and 3 OSes on here for no other reason than to have them.