MacBook Air or MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by michael69, Oct 31, 2011.

1. michael69 macrumors newbie

Hello, my 4 year old black MacBook (specs below) is still doing well, apart from the battery being dead, and the laptop sorta falling apart, so I'm looking for a new one. Just doubting whether to get a MacBook Air or a Pro. The 2 choices I'd go for are:

MacBook Pro 13", 2.8Ghz, 4GB Ram
    MacBook Air 11", 1.8 Ghz, 4GB Ram

The most important things to me are speed and weight, as I travel a bit. I've looked up the BenchMark values for these 3 Mac's and they are:

My old MacBook: 2928/3272 (32/64 bit)
    MacBook Air: 5784/6485
    MacBook Pro: 7049/7722

I'm not sure how to read these figures tho. Would that mean the Air is about twice as fast as my old MacBook, and the Pro is another 20% faster? Would the Air be good enough for me? I'm a web developer, and although I do most stuff on my work Mac, I do some crunching on my private Mac. Would the Air be able to handle that?

2. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

NutsNGum

I do the same stuff as you. I can run Apache, Coda and some CS5.5 applications without too much trouble at the same time.

The Air would be perfectly suited to your needs. It's not an ideal sole computer if you're a web dev, but only due to the smallish screen.

If you've got another computer, it's perfect.

3. michael69 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks! Will still do my work stuff on the other computer, and the CS programs run fine even on my old Mac. I guess the Air will be good enough. I don't care much about disk space (128 Gb is enough) as I have loads of external hard drives, I actually work on a 13" screen which is enough for me, so 11" should be good enough for my private stuff. Weight is a very important thing as I travel much, and speed is important, but I guess the i7 1.8 GHz processor and the fact that it's a Flash drive will be still be a huge improvement to my old Mac?

4. NikFinn macrumors 6502a

NikFinn