Macbook Air or Pro refurbished for school...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Sup3rknova, Jul 25, 2011.

1. Sup3rknova macrumors regular

Sup3rknova

Ok 1st, im keeping my iMac desktop. (iMac5,1, Intel Core 2 Duo,2 GHz) It still runs strong. I noticed there's Macbook Pros (refurbished) that are similar in price to new Airs. I like the bigger hard drives on the pros obviously. But i wanted to get some opinions on speed. I do heavy browsing, heavy itunes, mix some music, watch movies, maybe play around with photoshop. Which is better for my money? Im looking to purchase late August.

Also I assume (since im not a spec expert) that both will be a significant upgrade from my current iMac..(?) Will I see a huge difference? Thanks

2. Sup3rknova thread starter macrumors regular

Sup3rknova

3. sumone macrumors regular

For your money I would go for the Pro. The 2011 Pro rates well in in performance and should easily be able to accommodate your needs. The benefit of the Pro is that you have more options/expandability, by that I mean it comes with more memory for the price for storing all of your files, it comes with 4GB Ram and its upgradable if need be, optical drive is there if you ever need it. I'm not sure how well the newer airs handle multitasking but the Pro should be able to handle it easily and if ever you'd like to increase the speed you always can install an SSD in your Pro. Also, for roughly the same price as the lower model MBA you can get a 13" MBP compared to an 11" Air. JMHO.

4. TheGenerous macrumors 6502a

TheGenerous

MBA and isn't just because it's more portable but because it makes sense to have less HD space so that you focus on your work rather than playing dumb videos

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

Ouch; but true.