MacBook Air playing Halo Combat Evolved.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Derrick Velasco, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. Derrick Velasco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #1
    Source of Halo : Here

    Hello! I am wondering if the 1.6 GHz MacBook Air can execute Halo with normal settings like the Xbox Version. Or would I have to lower the setting :) And if so, to what?
    I also wonder if the Halo Combat evolved for Mac is the full Halo game.

    Thank you :)
     
  2. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #2
    it'll be barely playable because of the integrated graphics, unless you turn the settings down. And yes, it is the full game, but make sure you get the universal binary version
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Have you tried it?

    It's an old game. People say they got it to work on ibook and MacBook, thus it should work on MacBook Air.
     
  4. bluedevil14 macrumors regular

    bluedevil14

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    IMO, it will play just fine. My brother plays it all the time on an old gooseneck iMac G4
     
  5. The Awesome macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Candy Mountain
    #5
    The sad state of Mac gaming :( I will still be using Boot Camp when I get my Mac.

    IMO, Apple should make the game publishers do 64-bit so they could 1-up Windows in terms of raw performance. They could also ask Microsoft if they could license DX10.

    I hear that the X3100 is doing poorly compared to the 950 in some tasks because of Apple's bad drivers.
     
  6. Derrick Velasco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #6
    Will it work better running Halo running Bootcamp? :rolleyes:
     
  7. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #7
    Marginally, but it will still be very poor, and it won't look anything like it does on the xbox.
     
  8. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    System Requirements
    Mac OS X version 10.2.8 (10.3 or higher recommended)
    800MHz PowerPC G4 processor (1GHz or higher recommended)
    256MB of RAM (512MB recommended)
    32MB AGP Video Card; GeForce 2MX/ATI Radeon 7000 or better (64MB AGP Video Card; GeForce 4Ti/ATI Radeon 9000 or better recommended)
    1.4GB hard disk space
    Internet or LAN connection required for online play
     
  9. Derrick Velasco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the requirements.
     
  10. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #10
    I've tried Halo on 2 GHz G5 with Radeon 9600 128 MB and 1.5 GB RAM. It ran at 5-10 FPS on medium settings. MBA would be far worse than that because of the graphics card (or lack thereof).
     
  11. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #11
    You probably had the resolution too high...I had the same graphics card for a little while and Halo ran quite a bit better than that on it, more like 25+ fps with medium settings. (Well, 2.5GHz G5 vs. 2 GHz but that would make little difference in this case.) The main thing with Halo is to turn the resolution down; that helps more than lowering graphics quality.

    --Eric
     
  12. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #12
    800x600 is not considered too high last time I checked.
     
  13. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #13
    My friend runs Halo on his 2.2 GHz MacBook and while certainly the laptop gets warm and the game could potentially be better, it is acceptable... heck, I run Halo on my PowerBook G4 (12", 1.5 GHz, 1.25 GB RAM) and it runs well with the settings tuned down. The MacBook Air might not fair so well because of cooling and thermal throttling, but I'd imagine it would be playable... just not on your lap if you want to have children :eek:.
     
  14. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
  15. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #15
    Hmm, I was at 1024x768. Not sure what to tell you; the 9600 did way better than 5-10fps. Halo with a GMA 950 gets 10-15fps typically, so I'd expect the Air to run it around that rate as well...not personally what I'd consider playable.

    --Eric
     
  16. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #16
    You said 2.5 GHz G5 so it must be a Dual 2.5 GHz G5, which had Radeon 9600 XT graphics which is clocked higher than my 9600 in iMac. This explanes higher fps you've got.
     
  17. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #17
    That can't be right? On my 1.8 GHz iMac G5 with the same graphics card and 1 GB RAM, I got over 20 fps at 1024x600, pixel and vertex shaders on and everything else on medium. The only big thing which wasn't turned on was dynamic shadows but that didn't bother me.
     
  18. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #18
    i have tried it on integrated graphics, albeit on a windows lappie, and it was only playable on the lowest settings.
     
  19. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    I think I had dynamic lights turned on that slowed down Halo completely (known issue)
     
  20. N10248 macrumors 6502a

    N10248

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, U.K.
    #20
    I get good performance on my iMac G5 (2.0, 1Gb, 9600/128mb)

    with everything set on high and the resolution at 1280x800 i get a steady 22fps with highs of 30 and peak of 40 - although it did slow down a bit when in the banshee looking down at the whole island 10-15fps

    this is with lens flares set to extreme and 2x antialiasing....
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Derrick Velasco thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #21
    Thank you guys! I guess I will just have to turn the settings down.:)
     

Share This Page