MacBook Air Purchase

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Dtp8513, Jul 23, 2014.

1. Dtp8513 macrumors regular

I am thinking of getting the latest model Macbook Air. Any thoughts on waiting? Is there a potential refresh coming out? Some good deals out there at the moment..

Also- is 128 GB too small? I have a ton of pictures, which I wouldnt be opposed to move to a drop box or external drive..

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

There are bunch of rumors about new Mac portables coking out around September/October. If you don't need a machine now, it might be nice to wait and see what comes out. Worst case is the new machines are not to your liking and you can still by the previous version for a while anyway.

128GB is a personal decision. Out of the box with the OS and iLife/iWork apps installed you will have around 100GB left for your personal data. I have a 128GB MBA and that is more than enough storage for me.

3. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21

128 is more than enough for me. I am largely cloud based and everything is backed up to Google Drive. Even if I had everything stored locally, I just don't have that much content.

the 12 inch retina will be coming, no one really knows when though. If you need a computer now, the current Air's are fantastic. If you don't need it, I'd wait. The retina screen is worth waiting for.

4. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

Agree with the previous posters who have written extolling the citrus of the current MBAs, and stressing how excellent the current generation of MBAs actually are. My MBA is a 2013 model and it is easily the best computer I have ever had.

One area where I would differ with the previous posters is that of memory; personally, I would recommend 256 GB at a minimum - I found that 128 GB on my old 2010 Air was exceedingly limiting, and, as it became more full and the computer aged, it slowed down considerably.

5. Dtp8513 thread starter macrumors regular