Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Love-hate šŸ relationship

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Sep 19, 2021
i got a mba m1 a month ago and it's battery is way worse than my previous mba

for reference my mba 8/256 lasted about 8-10h , while with the new one i barely get 5h of SOT

the battery dropped from 78 to 26 in less than 3h today , chrome, pixelmator , documents , nothing crazy

the worst part is that there is no battery history on mac so it;s really hard to know whether it's faultive or not

apple says it's good , system reports 100% of health , but coconut already shows 98% after only 8 cycles ...

1673982141261.png

"MaxCapacity" = 100

| | | | | "DesignCapacity" = 4382

| | | | | "AppleRawMaxCapacity" = 4298

1673982184344.png

hg.wells

macrumors 65816
Apr 1, 2013
Chrome is definitely a battery hog, trying switching to Safari for a day and see if that changes anything.

Reactions: MacProFCP

Technerd108

macrumors 68030
Oct 24, 2021
I know using Chrome and browsing websites doesn't seem like it would drain battery but it can. A lot. Chrome is always sending info back to Google while Safari doesn't. This process can use a lot of resources.

If you try using Safari and don't get at least 6-7 hours SOT something might be wrong with your laptop.

There are a lot of factors to battery life. Screen brightness is one of them. More than 80% screen brightness is going to drain battery as well and combined with Chrome could be the issue.

You might also consider backing up your laptop and doing a complete wipe of the drive and re-install MacOS as a last resort. Sometimes that can fix mysterious issues.

65 watt charger is fine and should not be an issue.

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Sep 19, 2021