MacBook Air + Thunderbolt Display vs. iMac

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by febahadir, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. febahadir macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I'm writing to make a good decision for my large secreen needs. I've a top upgraded 13" MacBook Air 1.7Ghz, 8GB ram and 512SSD.
    I like my MBA. I use it for surfing the Net, blogging and some office document. I don't use Photoshop and other programs, either.
    Now I'm in between buying a Thunderbolt Display next to my MBA or buying an iMac.
    Which one do you advise me to buy according to my needs?
    Thanks in advance for your responses.
     
  2. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #2
    Don't get an iMac, you already have a nice Mac, seems redundant.

    Thunderbolt display is nice because it has integrated speakers, a camera, and a USB hub. Otherwise you can get a similar display for around $350.

    If you don't mind some desk clutter, I would get a 27" display, USB hub, keyboard, mouse, and speakers and plug them all into the MBA and keep the MBA under your desk somewhere, closed. It will be less elegant than an iMac but much cheaper.
     
  3. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #3
    Thank you for your quick response. I'm also thinking to buy a Thunderbolt Display with Magic Mouse and Keyboard. I don't need speaker and usb hub.

    Thanks to this option, I don't have to manage to computers as well.
     
  4. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #4
    You can use the Magic Mouse and wireless keyboard with any monitor you buy. Again, you can save a LOT of money if you get a 3rd party monitor instead of the Thunderbolt display.

    But the Thunderbolt display is a nice, integrated solution and it probably has good resale value. You might be able to get a refurbished one from Apple for less money too.

    Personally I would be reluctant to buy a current Thunderbolt display for two reasons. One is that it isn't Apple's latest screen technology. If you get a 27" iMac, the screen is bonded (glued) to the glass and it really reduces glare. The TB screen is not bonded. The second reason is that the TB display has a fan, which is annoying if you're sensitive to noise, and it's the sort of part that might fail after several years of use.
     
  5. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #5
    Then I should wait for TB 2 or buy 3rd party monitors.
     
  6. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #6
    Is there anyone who use TB display with MBA and share their experience?
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I used exactly that setup with the same Air you have for over a year and I was very happy with it. As others mentioned, only having to manage one computer is a big plus. I never felt like I needed more speed or power for anything I did.

    I recently updated to the new 13" Retina model and that works nicely with the TB display also.
     
  8. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #8
    Thank you Weaselboy for your reply. I think I am gonna go with this setup. I like my MBA and do not want to change it soon. Then I provide my big screen need via TB display.

    ----------

    One more question:
    Should I wait for TB display 2 or just just go with the current one?
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Tough question. The current one is getting old, but still does the job. There have been no solid rumors about a date for a replacement, and the older rumors we heard were about a much higher resolution version that I suspect will cost a lot more than the current model.

    It if was me and you need one now, I would just get the current version. If you watch the Apple Refurb store they are often in there for $200 off.
     
  10. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #10
    Thanks again, then I go just with the current one because I need now, not later.
     
  11. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #11
    Nobody knows if there will ever be a TB2 display, so get the current one.
     
  12. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #12
    Thanks. I'm going with current TB display then.
     
  13. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #13
    Before you buy new, check craigslist! If there is nothing near you, check refurbs at Apple. You should pay $799, not $999.
     
  14. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

    ctyrider

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #14
    I use dual TB displays with my 11" Air. It's a great setup.

    You won't go wrong with Apple Thunderbolt display. Having a single cable to connect beats all the mess with USB hubs and such that others had suggested.
     
  15. febahadir, Jan 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2015

    febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #15
    Thank you Ctyrider for your experience. I was hesitant in using TBD with Air. I think I can use it with my Air easily.

    I don't need both iMac and MBA. So buying a TBD will be a good solution for my big screen need.
     
  16. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #16
    I would like to ask 4 more question:
    1-) Shall I close cover of MBA when I connect TBD?
    2-) Do I have to leave awake while using?
    3-) Is there any app for not letting MAB sleep?
    4-) Using MBA when its cover closed is harmful for its fan?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. MarvinHC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Shanghai, PRC
    #17

    Can only help with 3) A free app called 'caffeine' works well.
     
  18. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #18
    MacBooks have a nice "lid closed" (also called "clamshell") mode where, if the laptop is closed and plugged into a power source and monitor, it will essentially function as a desktop computer. They are designed to do this and it will not harm the machine.
     
  19. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

    ctyrider

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #19
    1) Up to you - it works either way. Since I have plenty of screen real estate with dual displays - I keep my MBA closed.
    2) Yes
    3) No, you can set it to never sleep in Power Preferences
    4) No
     
  20. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #20
    Thank you for your answers.
     
  21. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #21
    Hi there,
    I sold my Air and I'll buy an iMac.
     
  22. Hacks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    #22
    What made you decide to get the iMac?
     
  23. febahadir thread starter macrumors member

    febahadir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Location:
    Turkey
    #23
    Anyway, the guy who wants to but my MBA was a fraudster. I get my Air back. I think I go with Thunderbolt Dlsplay.

    Why do I want to buy iMac? I just like the design when I see an iMac at an Apple Store.
     
  24. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #24
    What display?
     
  25. Hacks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    #25
    I was wondering that too.

    While there are a lot of inexpensive 27 inch displays, they aren't near the same quality. Most of them are only 1080p. You don't find cheap 2560 x 1440 displays.
     

Share This Page