Macbook Air USB Broken, cannot backup, or restore, What do I do now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by chemistslime, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. chemistslime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #1
    I'm hoping to get some advice on how to proceed with this dilemma. Thanks in advance to all who respond.

    The story...
    About 2 weeks ago I discovered that for some reason neither my Iphone or Ipod Touch would show up on iTunes when I connected it. Initially I thought it was an iTunes error but then quickly realized that neither a USB drive nor my 500GB HDD would recognize as well.

    Well, I thought that it might have been a software error so I proceeded to do a reinstall, everything was backed up on my Time Capsule so I had nothing to worry about. BUT guess what? My MBA wouldn't even recognize the SuperDrive. uh OH. I tried to do a network reinstall but for some reason it would always just HANG upon trying to wirelessly connect to a remote PC for reinstallation.

    So basically right now I don't know what to do. All my files are backed up on Time Capsule which is good. Although I can't wipe the MBA or do a reinstall because I can't access the reinstallation CD. I have sensitive sources files on my macbook air related to work that I'm uncomfortable just handing over to the genius bar. Any suggestions on what I should do? Any alternatives on how I might do a reinstall and then be able to bring it in to the genius bar to get this USB fixed.

    This SINGLE USB Hub is the Achilles heel of the MBA, I am now 100% assured of that.

    Ohh, also SPECS: MBA 128SSD RevB

    Thanks all
     
  2. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #2
    Go to the genius bar, pretty much your best course of action.
     
  3. chemistslime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
  4. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #4
    there is remote install software that enables you to put the disc in another computer and install over a wireless network.
     
  5. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #5
    You can use Remote Disk, can't you, provided you've got another PC or Mac with a drive handy.

    I don't have the USB drive, all CD's go in my Windows XP machine :)
     
  6. dehory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #6
    I had a similar-sounding problem to you. Ended up taking it to the Apple Store and they reseated some cables inside the port hatch.

    I wouldn't even bother with a remote disk reinstall. Since you have the sensitive files backed up already, can't you just securely delete them before giving your machine to Apple for repair?
     
  7. chemistslime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #7
    The problem with my mac is that even USB drives aren't detected. They don't even light up my sandisk usb drive. And the SuperDrive doesn't even detect so I can't even insert a disk. How do I wipe the drive? Did you mean I should just delete the sensitive disk files and then do a secure delete free space?
     
  8. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #8
    We're suggesting that you utilize the Secure Delete function of Mac OS thenjust hand over your MBA. When it comes back toucan decide to reinstall or not.

    How do you think this happened?
     
  9. chemistslime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #9
    Oh, the secure delete function? How do I do that? I never heard of it before. In terms of how this happened I actually have no idea, but it might have to do something with the computer deciding not to start one day. I had to do a hard reboot and then that's when stuff started happening...
     
  10. Vikz macrumors regular

    Vikz

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    #10
    Ok you eliminated the OS variable, the only thing left is to check the logic board or port hatch assembly. One of those two is the cause of the problem

    you have to get it to a genius bar to get that checked and do not worry about the sensitive data you have, we( apple technicians ) do not look at peoples sensitive data.
     
  11. losierp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #11
    You can enable FileVault so the Mac OS X encrypts and decrypts your hard drive on the fly. The data would then be protected and you could bring your machine into the genius bar.
     

Share This Page