Macbook Air vs Macbook Pro Screen - And overall usage...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blanco.juanfeli, Sep 9, 2012.

1. blanco.juanfeli macrumors newbie

Hey Guys,

You are probably tired of comparisons between the Air and the Pro, but I have a question that might change my decision. I been trying yo decide between the 13'' Air and the 13'' Pro. I love the speed of the Air, but the lack of upgradability is making me doubt. The Pro´s extra processing power is nice, and the avility to upgrade essential components like ram and hard drive is a big deal for me. I can´t really justify spending $1200 dollars on a laptop with a 5,400RPM HDD and a 1280 by 800 screen. I don't know if the low res will become a problem in the near future, when programs (and maybe even the OS) require a higher-res screen.

Could the low-res screen become a problem later on with some programs?

BTW: I'm a student, not planning to use any editiong software, other than iMovie or Avid Sudio, very light use. I will use Office and iWork regularly and surf the Web. It will also be nice to use Parallels, to run Windows 8, but there is the option to use Bootcamp. Lately I have been considering the base-line 11'' Air, I like the portability and storage isn't really an issue for me, as I always carry an external hard-drive and have lots of cloud storage.

Could you also recommend a specific configutarion? Considering my needs.

THANKS!!

2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

It sounds like an Air would suite your needs fine.

I don't think you will run into anything that "requires" a higher resolution screen than the 13" MBP, it's just that some things (like video editing) might feel a bit cramped.

Really the 13" MBP and 11" Air have basically the same amount of screen real estate, just in slightly different aspect ratios.