MacBook Air vs. MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Evnn, Nov 2, 2010.

1. Evnn macrumors newbie

Hi!

Last week I bought my first MacBook Air 13,3" - 1,8ghz - 2GB RAM - 128GB
    I was actually going to get the 4GB RAM on it but they didnt have it in stock, and I didnt feel like waiting a week to get it. So I went with the 2GB RAM, which I kinda regret now, because I will probably be using this MacBook for about 4-5 yrs and I have a feeling that it will last longer the better specs it has.

So, 4GB ram is only a 100$ more.. Twice as much storage space, 4gb ram, 2,13ghz procesor is only 500$ more. Is it worth it? Should I return this MacBook and go with the high end MBA? (A total of 1799$) Or should I go with the MacBook PRO, in that case, which one?

I know I really do not need a super macbook, I only use it for school (Im a student), some light video editing (recorded with iphone4), watching movies, facebook, and maybe play some Call of Duty once in a while, which I by the way know the MacBook Air can handle easily.

SO, which one should I go with? I like the portability with my MacBook Air, and the fact that it is newly updated with flash drive and stuff is pretty much the reason why I went with the MBA.

I know that there is a lot of similar threads like this, but i couldnt fint anyone in the same booth as me that could answer my question so i really need some help here guys :-D

Any help is really appreciated!

2. dcoux09 macrumors member

You should have 4gbs of Ram. It really is the industry standard; you can probably get by on 2, but if you do plan on using iPhoto/iMovie on a semi-regular basis, then you need 4 gigs. I have 4, and with a lot of windows open (since your a student, I'm assuming you'll have a lot of word docs open at once... I sure do) and iPhoto open at the same time (even for brief moments), your machine clearly slows a little. If you do plan on having the computer for 4/5 years, you definately want 4 gigs.