MacBook - Airport/internet connectivity

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Alaerian, Mar 8, 2010.

1. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

I'm a lurker on the MacRumors forums, and I have been for almost 5 years. I figure now is about the right time to start getting actively involved in the community. Unfortunately, I'm making my entrance by asking for your help and opinions. >.<

I own a pre-unibody MacBook, purchased in June 2008. I have had no problems with it thus far until today. I am a college student, and my MacBook goes to campus with me everyday. I utilize two of the college WiFi hotspots, each with its own distinct network name. I also connect to my home WiFi network that is secured and has another distinct network name.

Today, I found that I was unable to access anything internet-related on either of my campus networks. I was able to connect to both networks without issue, but I could not access the internet. The steps I tried to rectify:
    - Reboot (several times)
    - Reset SMC
    - Reset PRAM
    - Renewed DHCP Lease
    - Ran Network Advisor help thingy
    - Stop Airport and reenable
    I verified in the network options that Airport was on, connected, and working. The message underneath said something to the effect of "Airport is connected but has a self-assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the internet." I had not assigned it an IP address, and it was set to DHCP without a manual IP assignment. After resetting the PRAM, the shown IP was completely different and would still not connect.

When I arrived home this afternoon, I checked to see if I had connectivity on my MacBook to my home network. Everything internet related functioned without issue, like nothing had ever gone wrong.

Before I lost connectivity today, I changed nothing. There was no setting tampered with, no updates installed, etc. The college networks were also unchanged.