MacBook Aluminium (Late 2008) max memory?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Halvard, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. Halvard macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #1
    I have the MBA Late 2008 model, and when I got it it had 2x1GB memory bricks. I upgraded to 1x1GB and 1x4GB a few months ago, and now I want to upgrade to 2x4GB.

    But on Apple.com they say I can only have 4GB ram. On MacTracker (Application) they say I can only have 8GB ram. And I've also heard that I can only have 6GB.
    What is the correct answer?

    As I said, I currently have 5GB total. And that works just fine. But does this mean that I don't really need that one more extra? Like does the computer just ignore it?
    Or what can I gave?
     
  2. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    What do you need so much RAM for? I've found that with 4gb of RAM my macbook has never needed to use anywhere near all of it on a daily basis. Unless you are doing real heavy lifting type work, it isn't worth it to spend the extra money, 5gb will do everything that you need it to.

    As to your question, the max the macbook will hold is 8gb according to OWC. I would recommend buying memory or really anything else mac related from them. They are very reliable and have great customer service.
     
  3. Gamoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    #4
    Will any (correctly-spec'ed) 4 GB modules work with a Late 2008 (Boot ROM Version MBP51.007E.B05) or are there known issues with some brands?

    I'm looking at this upgrade kit from Crucial. I know some people swear by OWC too, and I like them but I've never bought RAM from them.
     
  4. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Any correctly spec'd modules should work, brand doesn't make a difference.
     
  5. DandsM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #6
    Hi,

    Just came here to confirm that 2008 unibody Macbooks DO work with 8GB of RAM (Running Lion).

    My new question is: Would it work with 16GB?

    Thanks!
     
  6. charlieroberts macrumors 6502a

    charlieroberts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #7
    no, 8 is as far as it goes! Still plenty to go around
     
  7. DandsM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #8
    Thanks for your reply.

    Are you 100% sure it won't work? I've read that the 2008 MB Pro supports 16GB (refer to http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12403893&postcount=6), so I guess it should work on the MB too.

    I am almost decided to to try, what do you guys think?
     
  8. GGJstudios, Jan 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    You misread that post. Go back and read it again. There is nothing there that suggests a 2008 MBP or MB supports 16GB of RAM.

    All non-unibody 2008 MBPs and MBs (Early 2008) support a maximum of 6GB of RAM.
    All unibody 2008 MBPs and MBs (Late 2008) support a maximum of 8GB of RAM.

    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  9. DandsM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    #10
    You're right. I misread it.

    Thanks
     
  10. lauraalonso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #11
    Crucial's tool must go by Mac specs-it recommended I get 4GB total, which I did. After reading this thread, I'm very disappointed that I didn't research further.

    "...OWC was able to confirm that the 'Unibody' MacBook models are capable of supporting 8 GB of RAM, but if -- and only if -- they have been upgraded to run Mac OS X 10.6 'Snow Leopard' or higher and have Boot ROM Version MB51.007D.B03. Note that you may be required to manually update the firmware for the update to work properly. Earlier versions of the operating system (OWC tested running Mac OS X 10.6.6) and earlier Boot ROM versions are not supported."

    Since I meet the above requirements, I may go on and buy more. The reason being the resulting speed after installing Mountain Lion over the weekend. Even with the additional memory (4GB total), it still seems slow. Taking delivery on a larger internal drive to give the virtual memory more room to romp. If that doesn't work, I may be faced with performing a clean install.
     
  11. bruds23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #12
    ok to used 2 x4gb

    hi ,i am a mac user ,i have to Macbook 2008 ,its great ,i am using two 4Gb Ram ,in it ,i did a lot of searching ,go to OWC ,,,,,Other World Computing,they have a lot on Mac they are great,hope this helps

    ----------

    to user ,i am also a mac user,i have a Macbook 2008 ,late ,i use 2x4 Gb,the macbook does see it ,use have to use a match set ram ,go to OWC,they will help you,ok
     
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    And that is why you registered? Will you ever come back?
     
  13. bruds23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #14


    ok , i am a mac user,i be back time after time ,not 24 /7
     
  14. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    Lucky you then. I was just confused, why you registered here just for giving an answer that has already been given. You must have searched for this to find it, since the thread is nine months old.
     
  15. PJL500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #16
    Fusion Drive

    My Late 08 has 8GB Ram and a Fusion Drive using the Optical bay for the SSD. Runs Maverick's nice 'n snappy (for what it is.)
     
  16. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    8GB isn't the memory addressing limit, these machines will address much more than that. What you are reaching a kernel limit for these machines. If you were gifted enough you could rewrite the kernel to address the extra RAM but if you're not then your stuck.

    I've owned one of these machines, people have put 16gb into them, it boots but drops out when trying to load OS X with a kernel panic. The issue is entirely software, but it seems nobody has spent the time to work around it.
     

Share This Page