Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ccrgt

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 21, 2015
Canberra, Australia
I have a very important Publisher file (I'm a teacher and the report-writing document is only on Publisher format) that is on a usb stick and I want to use it on my 12" MacBook 2015 model. So after getting some great advice from some of you here, I went ahead and downloaded a Microsoft Windows 10 ISO and used boot camp to install Windows onto my Mac. Many hours of downloads and problems later, I had Windows installed but it kept not working when on initial login screen. Kept having errors like 'kmode_exception_not_handled' etc. so I then tried loading/installing Windows via parallel desktop. Once there, I cannot find the office publisher application to install so I can use publisher file that is on the usb stick. I am so stuck! I just want to delete everything and start again (I have done this a few times over last 24 hours) would really appreciate your help.

Significant1

macrumors 68000
Dec 20, 2014
Do you need to edit the file? since there is a lot of online file converters, which convert it pdf (according to search results).

But you can also buy publisher:
https://products.office.com/en-us/publisher

Might be cheaper to go for a office365 subscription, where you can download and use it, as long as your subscription runs. But make sure that publisher is included in whatever you choose. It is not a core office application.

Word 2011 for Mac also has a publishing mode (removed in 2016), with core publisher functionality. However I does not appear to be able to open publisher files (but publisher can export to word files).

Edit: When Searching for "open ms publisher file on mac", it appears that Libre Office might be able to publisher files. There is a free version in the app-store, so it is worth a try.

Last edited:

SteveJUAE

macrumors 601
Aug 14, 2015
Land of Smiles