MacBook and Windows XP

siddalee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2006
11
0
I have this nifty new MB, which I hope will last longer than my usual PC laptops' 2.5 years. I hope I can install Windows XP on it. But when I put in the disk, it just asks me what Bluetooth device I want to sent the file to.

Simple question: How to install the Windows XP operating system to the MB?

I did get on the internet so I could ask. That's a start, huh?

Thanks.

Terri
 

chasemac

macrumors 6502a
Jan 30, 2005
767
96
In a house.
What version are you trying to install? At first, I think you need SP2. Of course, you need to use bootcamp to get started.
 

siddalee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2006
11
0
How nice you are to even respond. I hate it when folks come on a forum and ask a question that's been asked over and over. Of course. So there I go, sashaying in here and announcing, "Hi. I'm an idiot."

I have now searched my lil heart out.

I'm smarter now. But what a nightmare, going from PC to MAC.

To answer your question: I'm TRYING to install Windows SP1a. Am I SOL? What's my next move? Buy SP2?

And where IS the Option key on this thing? And the backspace. I'm exhausted.

Okay. so I'm still an idiot.
 

scott523

macrumors 6502a
Sep 8, 2006
833
85
Saint Charles, MO
siddalee said:
How nice you are to even respond. I hate it when folks come on a forum and ask a question that's been asked over and over. Of course. So there I go, sashaying in here and announcing, "Hi. I'm an idiot."

I have now searched my lil heart out.

I'm smarter now. But what a nightmare, going from PC to MAC.

To answer your question: I'm TRYING to install Windows SP1a. Am I SOL? What's my next move? Buy SP2?

And where IS the Option key on this thing? And the backspace. I'm exhausted.

Okay. so I'm still an idiot.
That won't be possible. Apple's Bootcamp allows you to install only Windows XP Home Edition or Professional with SP2, or later on your Mac. Click here for more info.

Oh and the Option key would be considered the 'Alt' key (location wise) in the PC world.
 

chasemac

macrumors 6502a
Jan 30, 2005
767
96
In a house.
siddalee said:
How nice you are to even respond. I hate it when folks come on a forum and ask a question that's been asked over and over. Of course. So there I go, sashaying in here and announcing, "Hi. I'm an idiot."

I have now searched my lil heart out.

I'm smarter now. But what a nightmare, going from PC to MAC.

To answer your question: I'm TRYING to install Windows SP1a. Am I SOL? What's my next move? Buy SP2?

And where IS the Option key on this thing? And the backspace. I'm exhausted.

Okay. so I'm still an idiot.
:) You will like your new mac. There is just a little adjustment at first. The option key is next to the little apple button on the left and backspace is the delete button. http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/ will get ya started for the windows install. BAD news though, you need SP2 to use windows.
 

siddalee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2006
11
0
Thanks, Scott. I found the Option key. I'm working in the darkI've been at it so long, I just looked down and then rolled my eyes. Turn a LAMP on, idjit.

So I need Windows XP SP2. I'll get it. Then I'll be back. Should I survive.

I would ask you how to get Boot Camp, but I think I'll grow wisdom and look around for myself. It's turribly hard to be a rookie again, after using PCs for 20 years, Thank God there are places like this. And folks like you two.
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,366
978
New England
Plenty more help and info in the Windows on Mac forum.

Note that you can turn your SP1a CD into an SP2 cd through a process called slipstreaming. There's a good guide on how to do that @winsupersite.com Google around.

Note too that you can also use your SP1a in Parallels without the same problems as Boot Camp.

B
 

siddalee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2006
11
0
Ow! Ow! Ow! My pore wee brain hurtz. :-D

I wish I enjoyed this part more. Exploring the whole info highway thingy. and crap.

Nor do I much care to install my ceiling fan or change the oil on my car.

I am, however, a stubborn wench.

Patience, persistence, and humor. In all things. Thanks again.

Terri
 

balamw

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 16, 2005
19,366
978
New England
siddalee said:
Ow! Ow! Ow! My pore wee brain hurtz. :-D
This is why Apple no longer recommends Boot Camp. Boot Camp is in beta for a reason. The process is a bit like changing your oil.

Depending on what you need Windows for, you might be better off just trying Parallels. http://www.parallels.com . Windows XP works great under Parallels for things like Office, etc... but not (yet) 3D games and/or other things that require direct hardware access (like burning CDs.) And it's MUCH easier to install.

B
 

Maskinmester

macrumors newbie
Aug 12, 2004
5
0
Denmark
I would also like recommend parallels. I've been using it at work for 4 months now - without any problems. It's fast and easy to use..
 

makismagoo99

macrumors regular
Aug 17, 2006
229
0
siddalee said:
To answer your question: I'm TRYING to install Windows SP1a. Am I SOL? What's my next move? Buy SP2?
You don't need to buy SP2. If you have a CD burner on your old windows system you can slip stream your SP1a disc into a SP2 disc. Follow http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=295, it will take you to a very easy-to-follow guide on how to do it.

I just ordered myself a MacBook and plan on doing that very thing :)
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.