macbook as a desktop replacement?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Divian BE, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Divian BE macrumors newbie

Hello,

I'm considering buying my first mac after years of playing with microsoft stuff.
    The new Intel technology has opened my eyes for sure.

The question is: which mac will suit me?

The idea:

I was thinking of the 2.2GHZ macbook (and probably add an extra 2x2GB in it).This should be used as desktop and notebook. I would take the mini-DVI to VGA or DVI adapter with it and when home, adapt it to my external screen. (22" monitor).Therefore I will buy a mouse and keyboard.

Knowing I am a graphic designer, used to work on the macpro (2,66GHZ I think) at the office. The machine will suit as a replacement machine to take work to home. (Heavy CS3 stuff) and lots of other pleasant stuff to experience the mac area. It's not ment for playing games or anything...

Does anyone has remarks towards this?

The thought
    All machines (mini , iMac, macbook, MBP) should have the same cpu (except the macpro and powerpc) I was told. Would I really feel some pain compared to the office machine you guys think?

ps: I think the pricerange to the MBP is not worth the money. And an extra €150-200 for black is just stupid. The high-end macpro is a bit too expensive...

2. lofight macrumors 68000

lofight

I wouldn't do it, a iMac would be better if you compare prices + macbook still can break easier..

3. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono

It'll be slower than a Mac Pro or equivalent iMac - partly down to the slower hard drive, but it should be more than usable. I use a MBP as my primary computer, running InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator without issues, and provided you can cope with the smaller built-in screen, I really don't see why you couldn't do the same with a MacBook....

4. Thrawn macrumors member

If your taking home heavy CS3 stuff, then get a MBP. You won't regret it.

5. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

Twe Foju